Pierce Powers to Sycamore Victory

MAPLE PARK, IL – July 8, 2019 – Bobby Pierce pocketed $10,000 after dominating Sycamore Speedway on Monday night, giving him the DIRTcar Summer Nationals points lead heading into the final Champions Week.

Dennis Erb Jr. set the front row with two-time Sycamore track champion Charlie Olson for the 50-lap Feature, but a caution on the start involving Olson moved Pierce to the front row. Finally, on a third attempt at starting the Feature, Pierce jumped straight to the lead.

He built a three-second lead over former champion Jason Feger, who surged forward from sixth to second. Feger cut Pierce’s lead to one second as another former champion, Ryan Unzicker, closed the gap between himself and Feger until lapped traffic slowed Unzicker on the bottom.

Eventually, Feger ran out of time to track down Pierce, who also claimed the $2,000 Independence Week title presented by FK Rod Ends.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals resumes Wednesday, July 10, at the Thunder Speedway for the “Hell Tour’s” second visit in Muskegon, MI.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Model Feature (50 Laps) – 1. 32-Bobby Pierce [4]; 2. 25F-Jason Feger [6]; 3. 24-Ryan Unzicker [3]; 4. 99JR-Frank Heckenast, [11]; 5. 89-Mike Spatola [8]; 6. 3S-Brian Shirley [13]; 7. 28-Dennis Erb, [1]; 8. 21B-Rich Bell [10]; 9. 15B-Jay Brendle [15]; 10. 9-Lyle Zanker [16]; 11. 25W-Allen Weisser [5]; 12. CJ1-Rusty Schlenk [12]; 13. 28O-Charlie Olson [2]; 14. 25H-Chuck Hummer [14]; 15. 31AUS-Paul Stubber [7]; 16. 22B-Jonathan Brauns [9]; 17. B5-Brandon Sheppard [17]; 18. 87-Walker Arthur [18]; 19. 21-Billy Moyer [19]; 20. 2-Allen Murray [20]; 21. 18-Shannon Babb [21]; 22. 29-Spencer Diercks [22]; Hard Charger:99JR-Frank Heckenast,[+7]