Unzicker Wins at Merritt

Ryan Unzicker Holds off Feger, Pierce for Summer Nationals Win at Merritt

The series kicks off its final two nights with a double-header at Oakshade Speedway on Friday

LAKE CITY, Mich. – July 14, 2016 – Ryan Unzicker was up front throughout Thursday night’s Summer Nationals event at Merritt Speedway, but Jason Feger did not make his second series win this year easy.

Unzicker started on the pole with points leader and reigning series champion Bobby Pierce on his outside. Pierce slipped back early as Feger charged. Through the late portions of the feature, Feger pulled even with Unzicker twice as he worked his way through traffic.

Unzicker managed to maintain the top spot and once he cleared the traffic, he pulled away from Feger. Pierce rallied late, battling past Feger and taking the second spot.

“I seen him coming off of turn two one time,” Unzicker said of the charging Feger. “I never really saw him on the inside, never really felt the pressure on the inside, but I seen him on the outside there on lap 26 and we just tried to drop the hammer again and get going.”

Unzicker has one other win this season at Clarksville Speedway on June 28.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action on Friday night at Oakshade Speedway in Wauseon, Ohio for the first night of a double-header.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at Facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at TheHellTour.com and ModifiedNationals.com. 


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Merritt Speedway; Lake City, Mich.


A-Main: 1. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL), 2. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 3. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 4. Taylor Scheffler (Waukesha, WI), 5. Travis Stemler (Ionia, MI), 6. Ryan Vanderveen (Six Lakes, MI), 7. Richard Neiser (Fruitport, MI), 8. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 9. Nick Kurtz (Greenville, MI), 10. Chad Foster (McBain, MI), 11. Sam Epling (Bancroft, MI), 12. Garrett Wiles (Hubbardston, MI), 13. Michael Luberda (AuGres, MI), 14. Chris Brindley (West Branch, MI), 15. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 16. Greg Walters (Banks, OR), 17. Bob Mayer (Holland, OH), 18. Jarrett Rendel (Clayton, MI), 19. Greg Gokey (Buckley, MI), 20. Eric Spangler (Lake City, MI), 21. Bobby Timmer (McBain, MI), 22. Curt Spalding (Hartford, MI)

2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule


Date Day Track Winners
Northern Kickoff      
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer
June 18 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer (2)
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
Heartland Tour      
June 20 Monday OFF  
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce (3)
June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Dennis Erb Jr.
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway Bobby Pierce (4)
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Brandon Sheppard
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Bobby Pierce (5)
Southern Tour      
June 27 Monday OFF  
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway Ryan Unzicker
June 29 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Bobby Pierce (6)
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway Rain/PPD
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Josh Richards
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Rain/Cancelled
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway Rain/PPD
Independence Week      
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway Bobby Pierce (7)
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway Jason Feger
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway Bobby Pierce (8)
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway Bobby Pierce (9)
July 8 Friday Farmer City Raceway Jason Feger (2)
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway Billy Moyer (3)
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways Bobby Pierce (10)
Champions Week      
July 11 Monday OFF  
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway Rain/Cancelled
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway Rain/Cancelled
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway Ryan Unzicker (2)
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway  
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway  


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.