Schlieper Hold

Schlieper Slides to Tri-City DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory

PONTOON BEACH, Ill. – June 24, 2011 – Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, Wisc., proved to be quite the ‘Wildman’ powering to his first DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour win worth $10,000 at Tri-City Speedway Friday night.

Schlieper moved passed race leader Jeep VanWormer of Pinconning, Mich., near the midpoint the feature event, and held dirt late model hall of fame driver Billy Moyer at bay to claim his first Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ win. The victory serves as redemption for Schlieper after he was outdueled at home state Cedar Lake Speedway by point leader Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind., during the tour’s second night of racing.

Moyer, of Batesville, Ark., would finish in the runner up spot ahead of long-time teammate Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., while VanWormer slid to fourth. Whitehouse, Ohio driver Matt Miller would climb two spots up from his seventh place starting spot to round out the top five.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will return to action Saturday, June 25 at Fairbury American Legion Speedway in Fairbury, Ill. 

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; Tri-City Speedway; Pontoon Beach, Ill.; June 24, 2011

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Dan Schlieper (10,000), 2. Billy Moyer, 3. Shannon Babb, 4. Jeep Van Wormer, 5. Matt Miller, 6. Jason Rauen, 7. Terry Phillips, 8. Steve Lance Jr. 9. Brandon Sheppard, 10. Jason Feger, 11. Scott James, 12. Ryan Unzicker, 13. Steve Casebolt, 14. Frank Heckenast Jr., 15. Dennis Erb Jr., 16. Brian Shirley, 17. Will Vaught, 18. Craig Smith, 19. Brian Birkhofer, 20. Mark Burgtorf, 21. Dewayne Keifer, 22. Chad Simpson.  B-Main winner: Shirley. C-Main winners: Doug Drown, Ryan Dauber. Provisional starters: Unzicker, Feger, Kiefer, Erb.

Heat 4: Jeep Van Wormer, Chad Simpson, Billy Moyer, Shannon Babb, Steve Casebolt, Chad Zobrist, Dennis Erb Jr., Ryan Dauber, Billy Laycock, Claude Walker Jr., Jason Feger, Billy Drake, Chris Shelton.

Heat 3: Brian Birkhofer, Matt Miller, Mark Burgtorf, Craig Smith, Bobby Pierce, Dillan White, Todd Hall, Jack Sullivan, Gary Christian, Kevin Weaver, Rickey Frankel, Chris Fetter, Mark Voigt.

Heat 2: Brandon Sheppard, Steve Lance Jr., Will Vaught, Terry Phillips, Jeremy Payne, Kent Robinson, Michael Kloos, Donny Walden, Billy Moyer Jr., Ryan Unzicker, Steve Leach, Rick Salter, Jason Oilfield.

Heat 1: Dan Schlieper, Jason Rauen, Frank Heckenast Jr., Scott James, Tim Lance,Brian Shirley, Kevin Cole, Randy Korte, Doug Drown, Dewayne Kiefer, Scott Riggs, Joseph Hughes, Pete Parker.

Time trials (unofficial)
First group
Dan Schlieper (s9), Oak Creek, Wis., 15.104
Jason Rauen (98), Farley Iowa, 15.155
Frank Heckenast Jr. (99jr), Frankfort, Ill., 15.171
Randy Korte (00), Highland, Ill., 15.382
Tim Lance (48), Brimfield, Ill., 15.403
Kevin Cole (81c), Christopher, Ill., 15.407
Scott James (81), Lawrenceburg, Ind., 15.45
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill., 15.603
Doug Drown (12), Wooster, Ohio, 15.701
Pete Parker (10), Kaukauna, Wis., 15.830
Dewayne Kiefer (16), St. Geneviene, Mo., 16.392
Jason Hughes (7H), Westville, Mo., 16.452
Jason Riggs (81jr), Harrisburg, Ill., 16.623

Second group
Steve Lance Jr. (25L), Cuba, Ill., 15.629
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 15.687
Terry Phillips (75), Springfield, Mo., 15.778
Will Vaught (1v), Crane, Mo., 15.847
Michael Kloos (6k), Trenton, Ill., 15.962
Jeremy Payne (74), Springfield, Mo., 16.005
Rick Salter (1), Albers, Ill., 16.110
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 16.111
Kent Robinson (7r), Bloomington, Ind., 16.344
Steve Leach (49), Staunton, Ill., 17.160
Simon McNab (49w), Perth, Australia, 18.419
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., no time
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., no time

Third group
Dillan White (54), Crofton, Ky., 15.561
Matt Miller (7), Whitehouse, Ohio, 15.577
Craig Smith (81), Godfrey, Ill., 15.897
Mark Burgtorf (7B), Quincy, Ill., 15.983
Brian Birkhofer (15b), Muscatine, Iowa, 16.001
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 16.103
Bobby Pierce (32), Oakwood, Ill., 16.169
Todd Hall (99), Charleston, Mo., 16.239
Kevin Weaver (B12), Gibson City, Ill., 16.311
Mark Voigt (30), Marine, Ill., 16.474
Gary Christian (58x), Broken Bow, Ark., 16.526
Chris Fetter (15), Troy, Mo., 16.694
Rickey Frankel (33), Quincy, Ill., 16.775

Fourth group
Chad Simpson (25s), Mount Vernon, Iowa, 15.611
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 15.663
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 15.685
Billy Moyer (21), Batesville, Ark., 15.779
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 15.869
Ryan Dauber (64), Tonill, Ill., 15.886
Steve Casebolt (c9), Richmond, Ind., 15.934
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 16.053
Billy Drake (75), Bloomington, Ill., 16.066
Chad Zobrist (78), Highland, Ill., 16.29
Claude Walker Jr. (35), Moro, Ill., 16.516
Billy Laycock (82), Marine, Ill., 16.71
Chris Shelton (16), Paducah, Ky., 16.738

2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule

Date Track Location Winner (Cars)
June 15 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. PPD/July 12
June 16 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Mike Spatola (37)
June 17 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Scott James (29)
June 18 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Canceled Rain
June 20 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. PPD/July 13
June 21 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. PPD/July 14
June 22 Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Scott James (50)
June 23 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Jason Feger (48)
June 24 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Dan Schlieper (51)
June 25 Fairbury American Legion Speedway Fairbury, Ill.
June 26 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, Mich.
June 28 Lincoln Park Speedway Putnamville, Ind.
June 29 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill.
June 30 Clay Hill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn.
July 1 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, Ky.
July 2 I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo.
July 3 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill.
July 4 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa
July 6 Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill.
July 7 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill.
July 8 Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill.
July 9 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn.
July 10 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind.
July 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind.
July 13 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill.
July 14 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill.
July 15 Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio
July 16 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Performance, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.