Simpson Surges to La Salle Win

070215 SN Simpson Ruefer


Simpson Surges to DIRTcar Summer Nationals Win at La Salle


LA SALLE, Ill. – July 2, 2015 – Chris Simpson charged from fourth to victory on Thursday night at La Salle Speedway to earn the second DIRTcar Summer Nationals win of his career.



Simpson, of Oxford, Iowa, stalked Jason Feger for the first half of the race and eventually surged to the lead in traffic on lap 29 then powered the remaining 11 laps to the $5,000 checkered flag.


“We’ve had a rough start to the year so it feels good,” said Simpson, who is only a week removed from a fire in his car during a heat race. “We had an awesome car. The track couldn’t have been prepared any better. We had soft tires on, me and Feger had the same thing on. And it all worked out for us.”


Shannon Babb finished third with Michael Kloos and Ryan Unzicker rounding out the top five. Points leader Bobby Pierce raced from 19th to finish 8th.


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals tour invades Fayette County Speedway in Brownstown, Ill., on Friday night and then races to Highland (Ill.) Speedway on Saturday and Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind., on Sunday.


Follow the Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at, or visit the series’ websites at and


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; La Salle (Ill.) Speedway; July 2, 2015

A-MAIN (40 LAPS) – 1. (32S) Chris Simpson, Oxford, IA ($5,000); 2. (25) Jason Feger, Bloomington, IL; 3. (18) Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, IL; 4. (6K) Michael Kloos, Trenton, IL; 5. (24) Ryan Unzicker, El Paso, IL; 6. (99JR) Frank Heckenast Jr, Frankfort, IL; 7. (21JR) Billy Moyer Jr, Batesville, AR; 8. (32) Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, IL; 9. (21) Billy Moyer, Batesville, AR; 10. (3S) Brian Shirley, Chatham, IL; 11. (10S) Scott Schmitt, Tonica, IL; 12. (89) Mike Spatola, Manhattan, IL; 13. (54) Matt Westfall, Pleasant Hill, OH; 14. (C8) Timothy Culp, Sheridan, AR; 15. (12B) Kevin Weaver, Gibson City, IL; 16. (58R) Ray Guss Jr, Milan, IL; 17. (9R) Curtis Roberts, Coleman, MI; 18. (4G) Bob Gardner, East Peoria, IL; 19. (21B) Rich Bell, Sheffield, IL; 20. (29) Spencer Diercks, Davenport, IA; 21. (75D) Billy Drake, Lincoln, IL; 22. (7) Mike Mataragas, Dekalb, IL.


HEAT RACE WINNERS: Shannon Babb, Chris Simpson, Jason Feger and Billy Moyer Jr.


2015 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

June 10 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Dennis Erb. Jr.
June 11 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Frank Heckenast Jr.
June 12 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Jimmy Mars
June 13 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Jason Feger
June 14 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Rain
June 15 Monday Off  
June 16 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Wednesday Farley Speedway Billy Moyer Jr.
June 18 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Rain
June 19 Friday Tri-City Speedway Rain
June 20 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Shannon Babb
June 21 Sunday Quincy Raceways PPD rain to June 22
June 22 Monday Quincy Raceways Rain
June 23 Tuesday Peoria Speedway Shannon Babb (2)
June 24 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
June 25 Thursday Clarksville Speedway Levi Kissinger
June 26 Friday Paducah Int. Raceway Rain
June 27 Saturday Federated I-55 Raceway Rain
June 28 Sunday Lincoln Speedway PPD rain to July 6
June 29 Monday Off  
June 30 Tuesday I-96 Speedway Rain
July 1 Wednesday Daugherty Speedway Jason Feger (2)
July 2 Thursday LaSalle Speedway Chris Simpson
July 3 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL
July 4 Saturday Highland Speedway Highland, IL
July 5 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
July 6 Monday Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL
July 7 Tuesday Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, IL
July 8 Wednesday Florence Speedway Union, KY
July 9 Thursday Macon Speedway Macon, IL
July 10 Friday Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, IL
July 11 Saturday Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communications Provider), VP Racing Fuel (Official Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, QuarterMaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Petroff Towing.