Sheppard Surges to Lincoln Win


Sheppard Charges to DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory at Lincoln Speedway


LINCOLN, Ill. – July 6, 2015 – Brandon Sheppard methodically worked his way from fourth to the lead on Monday night at Lincoln Speedway to earn his first DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of the season.


Sheppard, of New Berlin, Ill., worked the low groove early then shifted his line to the top on lap 15 to surge past leader Billy Moyer Jr. Once in front, Sheppard, the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion, survived a restart and pulled away to the $5,000 checkered flag in an event that was rain-delayed from June 28.


“We had a really good car,” Sheppard said. “I think picking the right spot in lapped traffic had a lot to do with it. My crew was showing me I had quite a bit of room so we must have had a pretty good car, you can’t ask for much more than that, and the track was really good tonight, really racy.”


Moyer Jr. tried to hold onto the runner-up position but Jason Feger, Brian Shirley, Wendell Wallace and Shannon Babb were able to drive into the top five, leaving Moyer Jr. in sixth. Points-leader Bobby Pierce was caught in an early incident and raced his way back to a 10th-place finish.


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals tour invades Vermilion County Speedway in Danville, Ill., on Tuesday night then rolls on Wednesday to Florence Speedway in Union, Ky., and back to Illinois on Thursday at Macon Speedway.


Follow the Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at, or visit the series’ websites at and


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway; July 6, 2015

A-MAIN (40 LAPS) – 1. (B5) Brandon Sheppard, New Berlin, IL; 2. (25) Jason Feger, Bloomington, IL; 3. (3S) Brian Shirley, Chatham, IL; 4. (6M) Wendell Wallace, Batesville, AR; 5. (18) Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, IL; 6. (21JR) Billy Moyer Jr., Batesville, AR; 7. (24) Ryan Unzicker, El Paso, IL; 8. (C8) Timothy Culp, Sheridan, AR; 9. (89F) Daren Friedman, Forrest, IL; 10. (32) Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, IL; 11. (10S) Scott Schmitt, Tonica, IL; 12. (45) Kyle Hammer, Clinton, IL; 13. (124) John Hahler, New Florence, MO; 14. (38L) Ryan Little, Springfield, IL; 15. (33H) Billy Hough, Thomasboro, IL; 16. (33B) Mark Burgtorf, Quincy, IL; 17. (1W) Donny Walden, Towanda, IL; 18. (4G) Bob Gardner, East Peoria, IL; 19. (21B) Rich Bell, Sheffield, IL; 20. (25L) Steve Lance Jr., Cuba, IL; 21. (11E) Brandon Eskeu, Ashland, IL; 22. (1M) Jim Moon, New Florence, MO.


HEAT RACE WINNERS: Jason Feger, Billy Moyer Jr. and Jim Moon.


2015 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

June 10 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Dennis Erb. Jr.
June 11 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Frank Heckenast Jr.
June 12 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Jimmy Mars
June 13 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Jason Feger
June 14 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Rain
June 15 Monday Off  
June 16 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Wednesday Farley Speedway Billy Moyer Jr.
June 18 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Rain
June 19 Friday Tri-City Speedway Rain
June 20 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Shannon Babb
June 21 Sunday Quincy Raceways PPD rain to June 22
June 22 Monday Quincy Raceways Rain
June 23 Tuesday Peoria Speedway Shannon Babb (2)
June 24 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
June 25 Thursday Clarksville Speedway Levi Kissinger
June 26 Friday Paducah Int. Raceway Rain
June 27 Saturday Federated I-55 Raceway Rain
June 28 Sunday Lincoln Speedway PPD rain to July 6
June 29 Monday Off  
June 30 Tuesday I-96 Speedway Rain
July 1 Wednesday Daugherty Speedway Jason Feger (2)
July 2 Thursday LaSalle Speedway Chris Simpson
July 3 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Billy Moyer
July 4 Saturday Highland Speedway Jason Feger (3)
July 5 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Shannon Babb (3)
July 6 Monday Lincoln Speedway Brandon Sheppard
July 7 Tuesday Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, IL
July 8 Wednesday Florence Speedway Union, KY
July 9 Thursday Macon Speedway Macon, IL
July 10 Friday Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, IL
July 11 Saturday Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communications Provider), VP Racing Fuel (Official Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, QuarterMaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Petroff Towing.