Right Place, Right Time For Babb

Babb Blasts to I-96 Speedway Summer Nationals Win


LAKE ODESSA, Mich. – June 26, 2011 – Shannon Babb was in the right place at the right time, Sunday night during the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour stop at I-96 Speedway.


(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)


Babb, a two-time Summer Nationals champion, raced to the lead on lap 37, when leader Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill. bounced off the back stretch wall and held of Pinconning, Mich., driver Jeep VanWormer over the final three circuits to claim the $5,000 winner’s prize. The victory is the Moweaqua, Ill., natives first on the 2011 Hell Tour, and makes him the new Summer Nationals point leader after six events.


Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.


VanWormer, who climbed from a seventh place starting spot, would chase Babb to the line where he’d settle for second. Defending Summer Nationals Champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., would come home third ahead of Pierce chassis stable mate Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill. Jack Sullivan of Greenbriar, Ark., would round finish fifth, his best finish thus far in 2011 Summer Nationals competition.


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will return to action Tuesday, June 28 at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville, Ind.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; I-96 Speedway; Lake Odessa, Mich.; June 26, 2011


A-Main (40-Laps): 1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Jeep Van Wormer, 3. Jason Feger, 4. Brandon Sheppard, 5. Jack Sullivan, 6. Dennis Erb Jr., 7. Scott James, 8. Billy Moyer Jr., 9. Dillan White, 10. Zack Olger, 11. Ryan Unzicker, 12. Curtis Roberts, 13. Brian Ruhlman, 14. Alan Vochaska, 15. Dona Marcoullier, 16. Donny Walden 17. Brandon Thirlby, 18. Eric Spangler, 19. Brian Shirley, 20. Frank Heckenast Jr., 21. Tom Sprague Jr., 22. Rusty Schlenk. Fast qualifier (among 46 cars): Olger, 16.255 seconds. Heat race winners: Olger, Shirley, Babb, White. B-Main winner: Ruhlman. Provisional starters: James, Schlenk, Spangler, Walden. C-Main winners: Walden, Dave Hartman.

 Dillan White, Brandon Sheppard, Frank Heckenast Jr., Brandon Thirlby, Donnie Marcoullier, Jason Wiley, Luke Hubbell, Dave Hartman, RIch Neiser.

Heat 3: Shannon Babb, Jeep Van Wormer, Billy Moyer Jr., Alan Vochaska, Devin Shiels, Eric Spangler, Curt Spalding, Adam Thrush, Kathy Jarvis, Phil Ausra.

Heat 2: Brian Shirley, Jason Feger, Jack Sullivan, Dennis Erb Jr., Brian Ruhlman, Rusty Schlenk, Pat Elered, Scott Phillips, Bry Sloan, Scott James, Kyle Borgman.

Heat 1: Zack Olger, Tom Sprague Jr., Curtis Roberts, Ryan Unzicker, Rusty Seaver, Ryan Vanderveen, Dona Marcoullier, Donny Walden, Dean Wilkerson, John Grega, Mark Andersen.

Time Trials (unofficial)

First group
Zack Olger (0x), Saint Johns, Mich., 16.255
Tom Sprague Jr. (21), Muskegan, Mich., 16.474
Ryan Vanderveen (23v), Six Lakes, Mich., 16.542
Rusty Seavers (18s), Stanton, Mich., 16.888
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 16.925
Curtis Roberts (9), Coleman, Mich., 16.925
Dean Wilkerson (17), Muskegon, Mich., 16.970
Dona Marcoullier (6m), Houguton Lake, Mich., 17.116
Marc Andersen (85), Blanchard, Mich., 17.267
John Grega (94), Fruitport, Mich., 17.397
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 17.415
Scott Ehlert (4e), Crystal, Mich., 17.943

Second group
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill., 16.262
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 16.294
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 16.430
Scott James (81), Lawrenceburg, Ind., 16.526
Brian Ruhlman (49), Clarklake, Mich., 17.043
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 17.084
Bry Sloan (2), Lowell, Mich., 17.429
Kyle Borgman (72), Muskegon, Mich., 17.582
Pat Elered (71e), Olvin, Mich., 18.332
Scott Phillips (50), Marlette, Mich., 26.337
Rusty Schlenk (91), Jackson, Mich., no time
Luke Tominski (89t), Saint Johns, Mich., no time

Third group
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 16.422
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 16.863
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 17.207
Alan Vochaska (34v), South Haven, Mich., 17.224
Adam Thrush (91t), Farwell, Mich., 17.480
Devin Shiels (51), Britton, Mich., 17.494
Curt Spalding (111), Hartford, Mich., 17.502
Eric Spangler (27), Lake City, Mich., 17.571
Scott Baker (13), Ionia, Mich., 17.654
Phil Ausra (15), Dowagiac, Mich., 17.969
Kathy Jarvis (30), Park City, Mich., 18.461

Fourth group
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 16.808
Dillan White (54), Crofton, Ky., 17.088
Frank Heckenast Jr. (99jr), Frankfort, Ill., 17.131
Brandon Thirlby (14m), Traverse City, Mich., 17.198
Rich Neiser (87), Fruitport, Mich., 17.433
Jason Oilfield (49w), Perth, Western Austrialia, 17.480
Donnie Marcoullier (6mx), Houguton Lake, Mich., 17.600
Dave Hartman (12h), Howard City, Mich., 18.036
Jason Wiley (73), Fenwick, Mich., 18.575
Luke Hubbell (32), Hastings, Mich., 19.063
Bill Bray (78), Spring Lake, Mich., no time


2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule




Winner (Cars)

June 15

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

PPD/July 12

June 16

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, Ill.

Mike Spatola (37)

June 17

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Scott James (29)

June 18

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Canceled Rain

June 20

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.

PPD/July 13

June 21

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.

PPD/July 14

June 22

Highland Speedway

Highland, Ill.

Scott James (50)

June 23

Fayette County Speedway

Brownstown, Ill.

Jason Feger (48)

June 24

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, Ill.

Dan Schlieper (52)

June 25

Fairbury American Legion Speedway

Fairbury, Ill.

PPD/July 23

June 26

I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, Mich.

Shannon Babb(46)

June 28

Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, Ind.


June 29

Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, Ill.


June 30

Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, Tenn.


July 1

Paducah International Raceway

Paducah, Ky.


July 2

I-55 Raceway

Pevely, Mo.


July 3

Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, Ill.


July 4

34 Raceway

Burlington, Iowa


July 6

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, Ill.


July 7

Macon Speedway

Macon, Ill.


July 8

Farmer City Raceway

Farmer City, Ill.


July 9

Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, Tenn.


July 10

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, Ind.


July 12

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.


July 13

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.


July 14

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.


July 15

Attica Raceway Park

Attica, Ohio


July 16

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, Ohio



The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Performance, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.