“Shark” at the Lake

James Slashes to Cedar Lake Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Victory

SOMERSET, Wis. – June 17, 2011 – Scott James made the 450-mile trek to Cedar Lake Speedway worth every mile by capturing the opening night of the Masters Classic on Friday at Cedar Lake Speedway for his first DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour victory of 2011.

James, of Lawrenceburg, Ind., made the Hell Tour journey from Thursday’s event at Kankakee (Ill.) County Speedway to Cedar Lake in northwestern Wisconsin worth it by driving the familiar Scott Riggs-owned #81 around Badger State racer Dan Schlieper on a lap-25 restart. Schlieper, of Oak Creek, Wis., then held off challenges over the final five laps to claim the second event of the 2011 Hell Tour, worth $5,000. Schlieper, of Oak Creek, Wis., would hang on for second ahead of pole-sitter Shannon Babb, of Moweaqua, Ill.

(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Fellow MB Customs drivers Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, and Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., rounded out the Top Five.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; Cedar Lake Speedway; Somerset, Wis.; June 17, 2011

A-Main (30-Laps ): 1. Scott James, 2. Dan Schlieper, 3. Shannon Babb, 4. Brian Birkhofer,5. Jimmy Mars, 6. Jason Rauen, 7. Chris Simpson,8. Ryan Unzicker,9. Brady Smith, 10. Brian Shirley, 11. Dennis Erb Jr., 12. Dillan White, 13. Donny Walden, 14. Tim Isenberg, 15. Gary Christian, 16. Jack Sullivan, 17. Billy Moyer Jr., 18. Brandon Sheppard, 19. Adam Hensel, 20. Jason Feger, 21. Will Vaught, 22. Chad Simpson. Fast qualifier (among 29 cars): Rauen, NTR(12.972 seconds). C-Main winner: White. Provisional starters: Walden, Sullivan, Christian, Moyer.

Scott James(top) powers around Dan Schlieper to claim the win – Photo Credit: Jerry Zimmer

Heat 1: Dan Schlieper, Jason Rauen, Ryan Unzicker, Chris Simpson, Dennis Erb Jr., Chris Brown, Billy Moyer Jr., Eric Pember, Jim Moon, Scott Duval.  

Heat 2: Brian Birkhofer, Scott James, Brady Smith, Will Vaught, Jimmy Mars, Adam Hensel, Dillan White, Mike Fryer, Gary Christain, Kerry Hansen.


Heat 3: Shannon Babb, Chris Simpson, Brian Shirley, Brandon Sheppard, Jason Feger, Tim Isenberg, Donny Walden, Jack Sullivan, Bryan Wennen. 


Time trials (unofficial)

First group
Jason Rauen (98), Farley, Iowa, 12.972
Dan Schlieper (s9), Oak Creek, Wis., 13.090
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr) Batesville, Ark., 13.122
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 13.137
Chad Simpson (25s), Mount Vernon, Iowa, 13.172
Chris Brown (21b), Spring, Texas, 13.441
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 13.495
Eric Pember (90x), Pittsville, Wis., 13.665
Scott Duval (92), Bloomer, Wis., 13.895
Jim Moon (1m), Zionsville, Ind., 14.000

Second group
Brian Birkhofer (15b), Muscatine, Iowa, 13.063
Will Vaught (1v), Crane, Mo., 13.088
Scott James (81), Lawrenceburg, Ind., 13.260
Brady Smith (2), Solon Springs, Wis., 13.502
Jimmy Mars (28), Menomonie, Wis., 13.772
Kerry Hansen (25h), Spencer, Wis., 13.792
Dillan White (54), Crofton, Ky., 13.989
Gary Christain (58x), Broken Bow, Okla., 14.010
Mike Fryer (5m), Freeport, Ill., 14.168
Adam Hensel (33x), Barron, Wis., 14.281

Third group
Chris Simpson (32), Marion, Iowa, 13.170
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill., 13.199
Shannon Babb (18), Moweagua, Ill., 13.207
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 13.316
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 13.560
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 13.697
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 13.705
Tim Isenberg (9t), Marshfield, Wis., 14.203
Bryan Wennen (40), Lindstrom, Minn., 14.400


2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule




Winner (Cars)

June 15

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

PPD Rain

June 16

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, Ill.

Mike Spatola (37)

June 17

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Scott James (29)

June 18

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.


June 20

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.


June 21

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.


June 22

Highland Speedway

Highland, Ill.


June 23

Fayette County Speedway

Brownstown, Ill.


June 24

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, Ill.


June 25

Fairbury American Legion Speedway

Fairbury, Ill.


June 26

I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, Mich.


June 28

Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, Ind.


June 29

Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, Ill.


June 30

Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, Tenn.


July 1

Paducah International Raceway

Paducah, Ky.


July 2

I-55 Raceway

Pevely, Mo.


July 3

Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, Ill.


July 4

34 Raceway

Burlington, Iowa


July 6

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, Ill.


July 7

Macon Speedway

Macon, Ill.


July 8

Farmer City Raceway

Farmer City, Ill.


July 9

Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, Tenn.


July 10

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, Ind.


July 12

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.


July 15

Attica Raceway Park

Attica, Ohio


July 16

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, Ohio


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Performance, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.