Pierce Dominates Jacksonville

Bobby Pierce Continues to Roll with Jacksonville Win

Summer Nationals kicks off Heartland Tour week

JACKSONVILLE, Ill. – June 21, 2016 – Bobby Pierce continued his Summer Nationals dominance Tuesday night at Jacksonville Speedway’s ILMO Propane Wildman Kelly Classic as he battled Mike Marlar to score his third win so far this season.

Pierce, the 19-year-old reigning Summer Nationals champion, came into the Heartland Tour kick off at Jacksonville after the first Monday break. After setting a new track record of 11.783 during qualifying, Pierce started the 40-lap feature in sixth with Marlar on the pole.  

Pierce very quickly powered through the field once the green flag fell and found his way around the leader Marlar on lap 14. Through the remaining laps, Pierce was in a class all his own as Marlar looked for some way to catch the No. 32. Just before a caution on lap 37, Pierce nearly had the entire field lapped, having caught the battle for third at that point.

Pierce easily closed out the night with his second win in a row and third in five races. It was his 10th career Summer Nationals victory.

“Man, it’s starting off really good,” Pierce said. “I just hope it keeps going.”

Marlar, who has consistently been up front through the still young Summer Nationals tour, closed out the night in second with Michael Kloos getting a hard fought third place finish.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action on Wednesday at Farley Speedway in Farley, Iowa.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at Facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at TheHellTour.com and ModifiedNationals.com. 


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Jacksonville Speedway, Jacksonville, Ill.


A-Main: 1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL) ($5,000), 2. Mike Marlar (Winfield, TN), 3. Michael Kloos (Trenton, IL), 4. Kevin Weaver (Gibson City, IL), 5. Shannon Babb (Moweaqua, IL), 6. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 7. Dennis Erb, Jr (Carpentersville, IL), 8. Brian Diveley (Springfield, IL), 9. Chuck Mitchell (Jacksonville, IL), 10. Kolby Vandenbergh (Ashland, IL), 11. Greg Kimmons (Pleasant Plains, IL), 12. Brandon Sheppard (New Berlin, IL), 13. Mark Burgtorf (Quincy, IL), 14. Mike Hammerle (St Charles, MO), 15. Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR), 16. Caleb Ashby (Cunningham, TN), 17. Don Hammer (Clinton, IL), 18. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 19. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL), 20. Rodney Melvin (Benton, IL), 21. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 22. Justin Reed (Camp Point, IL). Hard Charger: Jason Feger.


2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule


Date Day Track Winners
Northern Kickoff      
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer
June 18 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer (2)
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
Heartland Tour      
June 20 Monday OFF  
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce (3)
June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway  
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway  
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway  
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway  
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway  
Southern Tour      
June 27 Monday OFF  
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway  
June 29 Wednesday Belle Clair Speedway  
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway  
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway  
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55  
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway  
Independence Week      
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway  
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway  
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway  
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway  
July 8 Friday Farmer City Speedway  
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway  
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways  
Champions Week      
July 11 Monday OFF  
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway  
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway  
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway  
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway  
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway  


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.