Pierce Continues To Roll at LaSalle

Bobby Pierce Continues to Roll with LaSalle Win

The series returns to action at Daugherty Speedway on Tuesday

LASALLE, Ill. – July 4, 2016 – Bobby Pierce continued his incredible run through the DIRTcar Summer Nationals at LaSalle Speedway on Monday night as he charged through the field and got past leader Kevin Weaver on the final lap to score seventh win of the season.

“It was awesome,” Pierce said. “I think this was my first last-lap, last-corner pass to win the race. Me and Kevin had an awesome race.”

Frank Heckenast Jr. led early with Bob Gardner battling around him on lap seven for the lead. One lap later though, Weaver took advantage of Gardner jumping the cushion and retained the lead. Pierce, the night’s Hard Charger, was advancing through the field. By the time the final caution of the night flew with four laps to go, Pierce made his move.

“Starting 12th, I didn’t think I’d get through there that early, but the bottom was just so good. I thought about the middle to the top, it tested it on the caution, just warming up the tire. It felt like it was kind of loose up there. About a lap and a half to go, my dad motioned me up finally. I was like, ‘well, I’ll try it out.’ And it worked out.”

Pierce continues to lead the Summer Nationals points standings and kicks off the week three Independence Tour on top of the charts.

Weaver finished second with Heckenast in third, Joey Coulter in fourth and Gardner in fifth.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action Tuesday night at Daugherty Speedway in Boswell, Ind.  

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at Facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at TheHellTour.com and ModifiedNationals.com. 


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; LaSalle Speedway; LaSalle, Ill.


A-Main: 1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 2. Kevin Weaver (Gibson City, IL), 3. Frank Heckenast Jr (Frankfort, IL), 4. Joey Coulter (Union Grove, NC), 5. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 6. Rich Bell (Sheffield, IL), 7. Scott Schmitt (Tonica, IL), 8. Taylor Scheffler (Waukesha, WI), 9. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 10. Mike Spatola (Manhattan, IL), 11. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL), 12. Lyle Zanker (Rockford, IL), 13. Rusty Griffaw (Festus, MO), 14. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 15. John Gardner Jr (Germantown Hills, IL), 16. Austin Smith (Rome, GA), 17. Tyler Erb (New Waverly, TX), 18. Shane Clanton (Fayetteville, GA), 19. Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR), 20. Jeremy Conaway (Springield, IL), 21. John Piccatto (Spring Valley, IL), 22. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA). Hard Charger: Bobby Pierce


2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule


Date Day Track Winners
Northern Kickoff      
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer
June 18 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer (2)
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
Heartland Tour      
June 20 Monday OFF  
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce (3)
June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Dennis Erb Jr.
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway Bobby Pierce (4)
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Brandon Sheppard
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Bobby Pierce (5)
Southern Tour      
June 27 Monday OFF  
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway Ryan Unzicker
June 29 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Bobby Pierce (6)
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway Rain/PPD
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Josh Richards
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Rain/Cancelled
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway Rain/PPD
Independence Week      
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway Bobby Pierce (7)
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway  
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway  
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway  
July 8 Friday Farmer City Speedway  
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway  
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways  
Champions Week      
July 11 Monday OFF  
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway  
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway  
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway  
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway  
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway  


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.