Pierce Beats Moyer at Tri-City


Bobby Pierce Battles Billy Moyer for Tri-City Win

Pierce adds to his Summer Nationals points lead

PONTOON BEACH, Ill. – June 24, 2016 – Friday night’s Summer Nationals feature at Tri-City Speedway played out very similarly to Cedar Lake as Billy Moyer and Bobby Pierce battled it out for the win. This time though the young gun, Pierce, got the better of the veteran, Moyer, to score his fourth Summer Nationals victory of the season.

The two drivers started on the feature front row together and battled side-by-side through the opening laps. Pierce made his move for the lead on lap 10 and took it from the Hall of Famer. Pierce built up a strong lead through the remaining laps as Moyer worked to run him down, but, in the end, Moyer couldn’t catch the 19-year-old Pierce.

“You know, just growing up and watching Billy like that, I’ve always kind of wanted this race. You know, me and him – kind of just a duel match between me and him,” Pierce said. “When we drew the front row together, I was like, ‘all right, this could be my chance to race Billy, just me and and him,’ and hopefully try to beat him.”

With his $10,000 feature win, Pierce continues to add to his series points lead and Heartland Tour weekly championship lead.

Ryan Unzicker, Chris Simpson and Brandon Sheppard rounded out the top five at Tri-City.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action on Saturday at Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at Facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at TheHellTour.com and ModifiedNationals.com. 


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Tri-City Speedway; Pontoon Beach, Ill.


A-Main: 1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL); 2. Billy Moyer (Batesville, AR); 3. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL); 4. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA); 5. Brandon Sheppard (Berlin, IL); 6. Jimmy Mars (Menomonie, WI); 7. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL); 8. Tanner English (Benton, KY); 9. Ashley Newman (Ripley, TN); 10. Mike Marler (Winfield, TN); 11. Bob Gardner (Washington, IL); 12. Gordy Gundaker (St. Charles, MO); 13. Matt Furman (Iowa City, IA); 14. Tim Manville (Highland, IL); 15. Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR); 16. Jeff Herzog (Herculaneum, MO); 17. Riley Hickman (Cleveland, TN); 18. Kolby Vandenbergh (Ashland, IL); 19. Billy Laycock (Marine, IL); 20. Jim Shereck (St. Charles, MO); 21. Dennis Erb, Jr. (Carpentersville, IL); 22. Rusty Griffaw (Festus, MO); 23. Michael Kloos (Trenton, IL); 24. Mike Hammerle (Saint Charles, MO); 25. Casey Montague (Troy, IL)


2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule


Date Day Track Winners
Northern Kickoff      
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer
June 18 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer (2)
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
Heartland Tour      
June 20 Monday OFF  
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce (3)
June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Dennis Erb Jr.
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway Bobby Pierce (4)
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway  
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway  
Southern Tour      
June 27 Monday OFF  
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway  
June 29 Wednesday Belle Clair Speedway  
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway  
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway  
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55  
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway  
Independence Week      
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway  
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway  
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway  
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway  
July 8 Friday Farmer City Speedway  
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway  
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways  
Champions Week      
July 11 Monday OFF  
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway  
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway  
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway  
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway  
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway  


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.