Moyer Masterful at I-55

Moyer Breaks Through at I-55 for Summer Nationals Victory


PEVELY, Mo. – July 2, 2011 – Billy Moyer finally added his name to the list of winners during the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour after winning Saturday night at I-55 Raceway.


(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Moyer moved past current DIRTcar Summer Nationals Point Leader Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill. on lap 14 and would lead the remaining 26 circuits to claim his first win on the 2011 tour worth a hefty $10,000. Former ‘Hell Tour’ champion Dennis Erb Jr. would finish second, his best finish on the tour, after starting on the pole and leading briefly at the start. Waterville, Ohio driver Matt Miller would finish third just ahead of Babb who faded to fourth at the end of the 40-lap main event. Welcome, N.C., driver Austin Dillon would finish fifth in his first visit to the Missouri track.




Babb, once again extended his points lead after his fourth place run at Pevely. Second in points, Lawrenceburg, Ind., driver Scott James finished 12th, a spot behind defending ‘Hell Tour’ champ Jason Feger.


Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will return to action Sunday, July 3 at Lincoln Speedway in Lincoln, Ill.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; I-55 Raceway; Pevely, Mo.; July 2, 2011

Moyer moves past Shannon Babb at I-55 Raceway –


A-Main (40-Laps): 1. Billy Moyer($10,000), 2. Dennis Erb Jr., 3. Matt Miller, 4. Shannon Babb, 5. Austin Dillon, 6. Jack Sullivan, 7. Michael Kloos, 8. Brian Shirley, 9. Randy Korte, 10. Jeep Van Wormer, 11. Jason Feger, 12. Scott James, 13. Kent Robinson, 14. Ryan Unzicker, 15. Jason McBride, 16. Dillan White, 17. Dewayne Kiefer, 18. Craig Smith, 19. Bobby Pierce, 20. Jeff Johns, 21. Brandon Sheppard, 22. Billy Moyer Jr., 23. Will Vaught, 24. Mark Voigt. Fast qualifiers (among 41 cars): Babb,Vaught, Erb, Shirley. Heat race winners: Moyer, Vaught, Erb, Shirley. B-Main winner: Smith. Provisional starters: Feger, Unzicker, Kiefer, Voigt, McBride, White. C-Main winner: Kiefer.


2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule




Winner (Cars)

June 15

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

PPD/July 12

June 16

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, Ill.

Mike Spatola (37)

June 17

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Scott James (29)

June 18

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Canceled Rain

June 20

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.

PPD/July 13

June 21

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.

PPD/July 14

June 22

Highland Speedway

Highland, Ill.

Scott James (50)

June 23

Fayette County Speedway

Brownstown, Ill.

Jason Feger (48)

June 24

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, Ill.

Dan Schlieper (52)

June 25

Fairbury American Legion Speedway

Fairbury, Ill.

PPD/July 23

June 26

I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, Mich.

Shannon Babb(46)

June 28

Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, Ind.

Shannon Babb (22)

June 29

Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, Ill.

Michael Kloos (32)

June 30

Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, Tenn.

Mike Spatola (30)

July 1

Paducah International Raceway

Paducah, Ky.

Ray Cook(40)

July 2

I-55 Raceway

Pevely, Mo.

Billy Moyer(41)

July 3

Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, Ill.


July 4

34 Raceway

Burlington, Iowa


July 6

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, Ill.


July 7

Macon Speedway

Macon, Ill.


July 8

Farmer City Raceway

Farmer City, Ill.


July 9

Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, Tenn.


July 10

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, Ind.


July 12

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.


July 13

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.


July 14

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.


July 15

Attica Raceway Park

Attica, Ohio


July 16

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, Ohio



The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Competition Series Air Filters, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.