Mars Wins at Cedar Lake


Mars Lands in Cedar Lake Speedway Victory Lane for DIRTcar Summer Nationals Win


NEW RICHMOND, Wis. – June 12, 2015 – Jimmy Mars worked past Jason Feger with two laps to go on Friday night at Cedar Lake Speedway to take the DIRTcar Summer Nationals checkered flag.



Former Summer Nationals champion Feger, of Bloomington, Ill., led the first 37 laps before Mars, of Menomonie, Wis., was able to edge ahead on lap 38 and hold off Feger and Thursday night Summer Nationals winner Frank Heckenast Jr. to the finish. It was the seventh DIRTcar Summer Nationals win of Mars’ career.


“Jason was out there and he was good,” Mars said. “He was up on the top getting it. Then come Frankie, and I kind of lost my momentum there. I just had to keep going lower and lower then because of the crumbles, but we got (Heckenast) back and Jason there.”


Billy Moyer and Shannon Babb, with 176 wins and 10 Summer Nationals crowns between them, rounded out the top five. Babb had started 17th in the 40-lap A-Main.


There were 21 cars entered in the event. The DIRTcar Summer Nationals tour wraps up the Masters event on Saturday night at Cedar Lake Speedway before heading Sunday to Wilmot (Wis.) Raceway.


Follow the Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at, or visit the series’ websites at and


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Cedar Lake Speedway; New Richmond, Wis.; June 12, 2015

A-MAIN (40 LAPS) – 1. (28M) Jimmy Mars, Menomonie, WI ($5,000); 2. (25) Jason Feger, Bloomington, IL; 3. (99JR) Frank Heckenast Jr, Frankfort, IL; 4. (21) Billy Moyer, Batesville, AR; 5. (18) Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, IL; 6. (20) Rodney Sanders, Happy, TX; 7. (21JR) Billy Moyer Jr, Batesville, AR; 8. (58) AJ Diemel, Elk Mound, WI; 9. (98) Jason Rauen, Farley, IA; 10. (C8) Timothy Culp, Sheridan, AR; 11. (8) Dan Schlieper, Oak Creek, WI; 12. (24) Ryan Unzicker, El Paso, IL; 13. (1M) Jim Moon, New Florence, MO; 14. (15E) Caley Emerson, Grand Rapids, MN; 15. (1F) David Fieber, Neenah, WI; 16. (7K) Jason Krohn, Slayton, MN; 17. (124) John Hahler, New Florence, MO; 18. (13) JR Hotovy, Hartford, MI; 19. (32) Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, IL; 20. (33X) Adam Hensel, Baldwin, WI; 21. (2) Mike Nutzmann, New Richmond, WI.


HEAT RACE WINNERS: Jason Rauen, Billy Moyer Jr., and Bobby Pierce.


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communications Provider), VP Racing Fuel (Official Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, QuarterMaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Petroff Towing.