It’s Pierce on Top at Peoria

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

It’s Bobby Pierce on Top at Peoria

The series returns to action on Thursday at Macon Speedway

PEORIA, Ill. – July 6, 2016 – Bobby Pierce battled Kevin Weaver to score his eighth DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of the season on Wednesday night at Peoria Speedway.

Weaver, who started on the outside front row, jumped out to the early lead but Pierce caught him as he began working through traffic. With Pierce out front, Weaver began a three-way battle for second with Billy Moyer and Jason Feger.

Pierce successfully navigated through traffic and notched his second victory of Independence Week as he continues his dominating run through Summer Nationals.

“It’s just so hard to pass here because you swing out to the wall,” Pierce said. “If you’ve got a run on the top, then you always have to check up for the other person. I was trying to make a bottom lane work and (Weaver) got in there and washed up a little bit and got stuck behind the lapped car and I got under there.”

“Peoria’s a racetrack where you’ve got to expect a lot of cars,” Pierce said. “I’m just glad we got another win. It’s really awesome. The car was great tonight.”

Weaver closed out the night in second with Feger in third, Moyer in fourth and Ryan Unzicker in fifth.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action on Thursday night at Macon Speedway in Macon, Ill.  

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at Facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at TheHellTour.com and ModifiedNationals.com. 

 

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Peoria Speedway; Peoria, Ill.

 

A-Main: 1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 2. Kevin Weaver (Gibson City, IL), 3. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 4. Billy Moyer (Batesville, AR), 5. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL), 6. Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR), 7. Billy Drake (Lincoln, IL), 8. MCKay Wenger (Fairbury, IL), 9. Todd Bennett (Peoria, IL), 10. Scott Schmitt (Tonica, IL), 11. Roger Rebholz (Sparland, IL), 12. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 13. Rusty Griffaw (Festus, MO), 14. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 15. Brian Diveley (Springfield, IL), 16. Bo Brockway (Glasford, IL), 17. Jeremy Conaway (Springfield, IL), 18. Jim Black (Bonne Terre, MO), 19. Jason Wagner (Deer Creek, IL), 20. Russ Adams (Princeville, IL), 21. Mike Spatola (Manhattan, IL), 22. Charles Hess (Peoria, IL). Hard Charger: Scott Schmitt.

 

2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

 

Date Day Track Winners
Northern Kickoff      
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer
June 18 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer (2)
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
Heartland Tour      
June 20 Monday OFF  
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce (3)
June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Dennis Erb Jr.
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway Bobby Pierce (4)
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Brandon Sheppard
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Bobby Pierce (5)
Southern Tour      
June 27 Monday OFF  
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway Ryan Unzicker
June 29 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Bobby Pierce (6)
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway Rain/PPD
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Josh Richards
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Rain/Cancelled
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway Rain/PPD
Independence Week      
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway Bobby Pierce (7)
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway Jason Feger
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway Bobby Pierce (8)
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway  
July 8 Friday Farmer City Speedway  
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway  
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways  
Champions Week      
July 11 Monday OFF  
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway  
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway  
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway  
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway  
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway  

 

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.