Erb Takes Brownstown Opener


Erb Overtakes Moyer Late to Win Opening Night of DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour at Brownstown Speedway


BROWNSTOWN, Ind. – June 10, 2015 – Fifth-starting Dennis Erb Jr. raced past Billy Moyer in heavy traffic on Wednesday night to win the opening night of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals tour at Brownstown Speedway.


Erb, a three-time Summer Nationals champion from Carpentersville, Ill., caught Moyer with eight laps to go then powered to the 18th Summer Nationals victory of his career, which was worth $5,000.


Moyer, who led laps 3 to 31, wound up second in the 40-lap feature while defending DIRTcar national champion Bobby Pierce raced from seventh to third. Polesitter Billy Moyer Jr., who led the first two laps, and Kent Robinson rounded out the top five.


There were 29 cars entered in the event. The DIRTcar Summer Nationals tour invades Kankakee (Ill.) County Speedway Thursday before taking off for Cedar Lake Speedway Friday and Saturday.


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway; June 10, 2015

A-MAIN (40 LAPS) – 1. (28E) Dennis Erb Jr, Carpentersville, IL ($5,000); 2. (21) Billy Moyer, Batesville, AR; 3. (32) Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, IL; 4. (21JR) Billy Moyer Jr, Batesville, AR; 5. (7R) Kent Robinson, Bloomington, IN; 6. (1G) Devin Gilpin, Columbus, IN; 7. (89) Daren Friedman, Forrest, IL; 8. (8K) Levi Kissinger, Mt Vernon, IN; 9. (24) Ryan Unzicker, El Paso, IL; 10. (32S) Chad Stapleton, Endiburgh, IN; 11. (96) Tanner English, Benton, KY; 12. (1M) Jim Moon, New Florence, MO; 13. (91P) Jason Papich, Nipomo, CA; 14. (8C) Timothy Culp, Sheridan, AR; 15. (4G) Bob Gardner, East Peoria, IL; 16. (91) Rusty Schlenk, Weston, OH; 17. (83) Scott James, Harrison, Oh; 18. (15) Greg Johnson, Bedford, IN; 19. (5H) Jeremy Hines, Seymour, IN; 20. (89B) Steve Barnett, Franklin, IN; 21. (77C) Cody Mahoney, Hanover, IN; 22. (80) Matt Bex, Avoca, IN.

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Billy Moyer, Kent Robinson and Billy Moyer Jr.


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communications Provider), VP Racing Fuel (Official Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, QuarterMaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Petroff Towing.