Erb Cruises to Spoon River Win

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Dennis Erb Dominates Summer Nationals at Spoon River

Pierce adds to his Summer Nationals points lead

CANTON, Ill. – June 23, 2016 – Dennis Erb Jr., fresh of his win at the Dirt Late Model Dream, came into Thursday night’s DIRTcar Summer Nationals at Spoon River Speedway with the wind at his back and did it ever show.

Erb cruised to a dominant victory over Billy Moyer and Bobby Pierce in the 50-lap feature and scored the $10,000 payday.

“I didn’t know if it was easy or not,” Erb said. “The car was good and I didn’t see anybody challenge me there. We were able just to get out front and I didn’t feel no challenge, so I just kept driving my line.”

Erb started the feature on the pole and and easily pulled away from Moyer through the opening half of the feature. A caution flag flew on lap 28, but Erb maintained when the feature returned to green. Through traffic in the closing laps, Moyer tried to close the gap on Erb but was unable to make a move.

The win was the 20th Summer Nationals victory of Erb’s career.

Pierce charged through the field and battled past Mike Marlar to finish in third. He added to his Summer Nationals points lead.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action on Friday at Tri-City Speedway in Pontoon Beach, Ill.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at Facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at TheHellTour.com and ModifiedNationals.com. 

 

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Spoon River Speedway; Canton, Ill.

 

A-Main: 1. Dennis Erb, Jr (Carpentersville, IL), 2. Billy Moyer (Batesville, AR), 3. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 4. Mike Marlar (Winfield, TN), 5. Kevin Weaver (Gibson City, IL), 6. Brandon Sheppard (New Berlin, IL), 7. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 8. Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR), 9. Shannon Babb (Moweaqua, IL), 10. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA), 11. Billy Drake (Lincoln, IL), 12. Taylor Scheffler (Waukesha, WI), 13. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 14. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL), 15. Justin Reed (Camp Point, IL), 16. Kolby Vandenbergh (Ashland, IL), 17. Austin Rettig (Sikeston, MO), 18. Brian Diveley (Springfield, IL), 19. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 20. Jim Moon (New Florence, MO), 21. Don Hammer (Clinton, IL), 22. Nick Bauman (New Berlin, IL). Hard Charger: Taylor Scheffler

 

2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

 

Date Day Track Winners
Northern Kickoff      
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer
June 18 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer (2)
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
Heartland Tour      
June 20 Monday OFF  
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce (3)
June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Dennis Erb Jr.
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway  
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway  
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway  
Southern Tour      
June 27 Monday OFF  
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway  
June 29 Wednesday Belle Clair Speedway  
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway  
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway  
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55  
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway  
Independence Week      
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway  
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway  
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway  
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway  
July 8 Friday Farmer City Speedway  
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway  
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways  
Champions Week      
July 11 Monday OFF  
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway  
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway  
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway  
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway  
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway  

 

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.