Cook-ed In Kentucky

PADUCAH, Ky. – July 1, 2011 – Ray Cook of Brasstwon, N.C., no doubt enjoyed the spoils of the richest payday on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour after winning Friday night at Paducah International Raceway, an event that paid Cook $12,000.


(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Cook capitalized on a front row starting spot earned by holding off a furious onslaught from NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Austin Dillon of Welcome, N.C., early and after building a comfortable lead held off Summer Nationals point leader Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill. to claim his second win ever on the month long tour. Babb finished second just behind Cook after slipping past Dillon on a late restart. Batesville, Ark., driver Billy Moyer would finish third one spot up from his fourth place starting spot. Dillon, a grandson to NASCAR team owner Richard Childress, finished fourth while Pinconning, Mich., driver Jeep VanWormer finished fifth after a charge from his tenth place starting spot.


Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.


Babb extended his points lead after his second place run at Paducah. Second spot in, Lawrenceburg, Ind., driver Scott James finished 11th, a spot ahead of defending ‘Hell Tour’ champ Jason Feger.


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will return to action Friday, July 2 at I-55 Raceway in Pevely, Mo.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; Paducah International Raceway; Paducah, Ky.; July 1, 2011


A-Main (40-Laps): 1. Ray Cook ($12,000), 2. Shannon Babb, 3. Billy Moyer, 4. Austin Dillon, 5. Jeep Van Wormer, 6. Brian Shirley, 7. Chris Wall, 8. Randy Korte, 9. Jack Sullivan, 10. Dennis Erb Jr., 11. Scott James, 12. Jason Feger, 13. Will Vaught, 14. Dan Schlieper, 15. Mike Spatola, 16. Tanner English, 17. Kevin Cole, 18. Brandon Sheppard, 19. Matt Miller, 20. Jarryd Holshouser, 21. Tim Brown, 22. Ryan Unzicker. Fast qualifiers: Shirley, Babb, Moyer, Unzicker.   B-Main winner: Miller. Provisional starters: Unzicker, Feger, Brown, Sheppard. C-Main winner: Brown.

Heat 4: Austin Dillon, Dan Schlieper, Tanner English, Jarryd Hoshouser, Jason Oldfield, Levi Ashby, Jason Riggs, Ryan Unzicker.

Heat 3: Billy Moyer, Scott James, Will Vaught, Dennis Erb Jr., Kevin Cole, Randy Sellars, Chris Shelton, Fred Perry, Tony Vancil, Jeff Watson.

Heat 2: Ray Cook, Shannon Babb, Jeep Van Wormer, Mike Spatola, Matt Miller, Jason Feger, John Tindal, Tim Brown, Brandon Sheppard, Rodney Melvin.

Heat 1: Chris Wall, Brian Shirley, Jack Sullivan, Randy Korte, Dillan White, Donny Walden, Terry English, Billy Moyer Jr., Jason McBride, Troy Gay.

Time trials (unofficial) 

First group
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill., 15.985
Terry English (96), Benton, Ky., 15.993
Chris Wall (71), Springfield, La., 16.076
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 16.235
Randy Korte (00), Highland, Ill., 16.382
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 16.438
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 16.558
Dillan White (54), Crofton, Ky., 16.702
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 16.825
Troy Gray (00), Goodlettsville, Tenn., 17.224

Second group
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 16.051
Mike Spatola (89), Manhattan, Ill., 16.18
Ray Cook (53), Brasstown, N.C., 16.212
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 16.249
Matt Miller (7m), Whitehouse, Ohio, 16.369
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 16.454
John Tindal (7), Fancy Farm, Ky., 16.514
Rodney Melvin (27), Mount Vernon, Ill., 16.568
Tim Brown (T14), Calvert City, Ky., 16.759
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 17.014

Third group
Billy Moyer (21), Batesville, Ark., 16.147
Will Vaught (1v), Crane, Mo., 16.446
Scott James (81), Lawrencburg, Ind., 16.533
Randy Sellars (3), Mayfield, Ky., 16.699
Jeff Watson (56), Campbellsville, Ky., 16.722
Tony Vancil (5), Hickory, Ky., 17.117
Chris Shelton (16), 17.246
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 17.543
Fred Perry (0), Calvery City, Ky., 17.753
Kevin Cole (81c), Christopher, Ill., no time

Fourth group
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 16.849
Tanner English (96t), Benton, Ky., 16.96
Dan Schlieper (s9), Oak Creek, Wis., 16.969
Austin Dillon (3), Welcome, N.C., 17.149
Jarryd Holshouser (41), Boaz, Ky., 17.173
Jason Oldfield (49w), Perth, Western Australia, 17.186
Jason Riggs (81jr), Harrisburg, Ill., 17.307
Steve Karnes (53), Marion, Ill., 17.718
Levi Ashby (1), Cumberland, Tenn., 18.366

2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule




Winner (Cars)

June 15

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

PPD/July 12

June 16

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, Ill.

Mike Spatola (37)

June 17

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Scott James (29)

June 18

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Canceled Rain

June 20

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.

PPD/July 13

June 21

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.

PPD/July 14

June 22

Highland Speedway

Highland, Ill.

Scott James (50)

June 23

Fayette County Speedway

Brownstown, Ill.

Jason Feger (48)

June 24

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, Ill.

Dan Schlieper (52)

June 25

Fairbury American Legion Speedway

Fairbury, Ill.

PPD/July 23

June 26

I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, Mich.

Shannon Babb(46)

June 28

Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, Ind.

Shannon Babb (22)

June 29

Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, Ill.

Michael Kloos (32)

June 30

Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, Tenn.

Mike Spatola (30)

July 1

Paducah International Raceway

Paducah, Ky.

Ray Cook(40)

July 2

I-55 Raceway

Pevely, Mo.


July 3

Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, Ill.


July 4

34 Raceway

Burlington, Iowa


July 6

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, Ill.


July 7

Macon Speedway

Macon, Ill.


July 8

Farmer City Raceway

Farmer City, Ill.


July 9

Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, Tenn.


July 10

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, Ind.


July 12

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.


July 13

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.


July 14

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.


July 15

Attica Raceway Park

Attica, Ohio


July 16

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, Ohio



The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Competition Series Air Filters, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.