Carrier Rolls at Brushcreek

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Carrier Rolls to Brushcreek Win; Shirley Extends Championship Lead


Peebles, Ohio – July 11, 2012 – Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., added his name to the record books Wednesday night winning the DIRTcar Summer Nationals event at Brushcreek Motorsports Park.  The win netted Carrier $5,000 for his victory in Steven Partin’s Hidden Gem, a race built on raising funds to provide higher education scholarships.


(Click here for more photos courtesy of

(For late breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’, click here to follow along on Twitter.)


Carrier grabbed the lead from Chad Smith of Middletown, Ohio, on the third lap of the 40-lap main event and didn’t look back, leading the remaining 37 laps to his first series win.  Current Hell Tour point leader Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., drove from fifth to finish second.  Former World of Outlaws Late Model Series Champion Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., finished third.  Jason Montgomery of Jackson, Ohio, and Smith rounded out the top five.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)


Shirley’s point lead was extended to 61 markers over defending Hell Tour Champion Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., who finished 13th. Thursday night the tour invades Terre Haute Action Track in Terre Haute, Ind.  Three events remain on the 2012 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Brushcreek Motorsports Park; Peebles, Ohio; July 11, 2012 A-Main (40-laps): 1. Eddie Carrier Jr.($5,000), 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Josh Richards, 4. Jason Montgomery, 5. Chad Smith, 6. Jason Feger, 7. Ryan Unzicker, 8. Brandon Sheppard, 9. Jason McBride, 10. Rod Conley, 11. Mike Spatola, 12. Dennis Erb Jr., 13. Shannon Babb, 14. Donnie Moran, 15. Austin Dillon, 16. Jon Henry, 17. Scott James, 18. Greg Johnson, 19. Nick Bartels, 20. Kathy Jarvis, 21. Zack Dohm, 22. Don O’Neal. Fast qualifiers (among 32 cars): Carrier, 14.316 seconds. Heat race winners: C. Smith, Carrier, McBride, Dohm. B-main winner: Montgomery. Provisional starters: Spatola, Jarvis, Sheppard, Bartels.

2012 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule




Winner (Cars)


Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN

Billy Moyer Jr. (49)


Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, IL

Shannon Babb(45)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Billy Moyer Jr. (37)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Billy Moyer Jr. (32)


Wilmot Raceway

Wilmot, WI

Ryan Unzicker (31)


Spoon River Speedway

Canton, IL

Jon Henry (38)


Highland Speedway

Highland, IL

Rodney Melvin (42)


Fayette Co. Speedway

Brownstown, IL

Brian Shirley (41)


Tri City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, IL

Billy Moyer (43)


Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL

Brian Shirley (41)


I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, MI

Shannon Babb (36)


Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, IN

Jason Feger (21)


Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, IL

Jason Feger (34)


Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, TN

Brandon Sheppard (28)


Paducah Int. Raceway

Paducah, KY

Brian Birkhofer (35)


Federated Auto Parts I-55

Pevely, MO

Billy Moyer (34)


Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, IL

Canceled (Heat)


Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL

Brian Shirley (41)


Jacksonville Speedway

Jacksonville, IL

Jason Feger (40)


Lasalle Speedway

Lasalle, IL

Brian Birkhofer (36)


Macon Speedway

Macon, IL

Brian Shirley (38)


Quincy Raceways

Quincy, IL

Brian Shirley (31)


Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, TN

Dennis Erb Jr. (32)


Tri State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN

Scott Weber (28)


Florence Speedway

Union, KY

Shannon Babb (44)


Brushcreek Motorsports

Pebbles, OH

Eddie Carrier Jr. (32)


Terre Haute Action Track

Terre Haute, IN


Attica Raceway Park

Attica, OH


Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals (The Hell Tour) is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine contingency sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Chevy Performance Parts, Intercomp, JE Pistons, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Ignition, Ohlins Shocks, Quartermaster, Superflow Dyno’s, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), Wix Filters, and Wrisco Aluminum.