Billy Moyer Dominates at Highland

Billy Moyer Dominates at Highland

The series returns to action Sunday at Quincy Raceways

HIGHLAND, Ill. – July 9, 2016 – Billy Moyer dominated Saturday night’s DIRTcar Summer Nationals feature at Highland Speedway as he scored his 93rd career series victory and third of the 2016 season.

Devin Gilpin started on the pole but Moyer very quickly took over the top spot and steadily built and insurmountable lead. Through 30-laps Moyer extended his lead at one point to nearly half a track length over Gilpin and current points leader and reigning series champion Bobby Pierce.

Four cautions waved throughout the feature but Moyer held tough. He scored victory with Gilpin in second and Pierce in third.


“We changed a couple of things on the car today,” Moyer said. “We had to redeem ourselves as bad as we’ve been the last couple of days. It ran like it was supposed to tonight. It felt good.”

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action on Sunday night at Quincy Raceways.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at or on Facebook at Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at and 


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Highland Speedway; Highland, Ill.


A-Main:1. Billy Moyer (Batesville, AR), 2. Devin Gilpin (Columbus, IN), 3. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 4. Chad Zobrist (Highland, IL), 5. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 6. Tim Manville (Troy, IL), 7. Rusty Griffaw (Festus, MO), 8. Jeff Herzog (Herculaneum, MO), 9. Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR), 10. Brian Diveley (Springfield, IL), 11. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 12. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL), 13. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 14. Daniel Jacober (Highland, IL), 15. Daryn Klein (Fairview Heights, IL), 16. Dean Carpenter (Coldwater, MS), 17. Rick Salter (Aviston, IL), 18. Jim Black (Bonne Terre, MO), 19. Matt Bailey (Highland, IL), 20. Matt Weidner (Highland, IL), 21. Michael Kloos (Trenton, IL), 22. Jason Suhre (Highland, IL).


2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule


Date Day Track Winners
Northern Kickoff      
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer
June 18 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer (2)
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
Heartland Tour      
June 20 Monday OFF  
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce (3)
June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Dennis Erb Jr.
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway Bobby Pierce (4)
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Brandon Sheppard
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Bobby Pierce (5)
Southern Tour      
June 27 Monday OFF  
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway Ryan Unzicker
June 29 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Bobby Pierce (6)
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway Rain/PPD
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Josh Richards
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Rain/Cancelled
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway Rain/PPD
Independence Week      
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway Bobby Pierce (7)
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway Jason Feger
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway Bobby Pierce (8)
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway Bobby Pierce (9)
July 8 Friday Farmer City Raceway Jason Feger (2)
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway Bily Moyer (3)
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways  
Champions Week      
July 11 Monday OFF  
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway  
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway  
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway  
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway  
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway  


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.