Babb Tops Tri-State

070515 SN Babb TriState


Babb Charges to Late Race Victory at Tri-State for Third DIRTcar Summer Nationals Win of the Season


HAUBSTADT, Ind. – July 5, 2015 – Shannon Babb passed Billy Moyer Jr. in heavy lapped traffic with two laps to go on Sunday night at Tri-State Speedway to earn his third DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of the season.


Babb, of Moweaqua, Ill., started sixth and kept pushing forward in the 40-lap feature, eventually catching and passing Moyer Jr. to take the $5,000 checkered flag and tie Billy Moyer with 90 DIRTcar Summer Nationals victories atop the all-time win list.


“It was pretty wild out there,” Babb said. “It always is here at Haubstadt. It’s racy as can be and lapped traffic always plays into it a little bit. Billy (Moyer Jr.) was leading the thing, it’s really hard to get off the corner here, so everybody was using the cushion or whatever they could use. It was just good racing everywhere on this place.”


Points leader Bobby Pierce was also able to get past Moyer Jr. on the last lap to finish second while Scott James and Dennis Erb Jr. rounded out the top five.


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals final week continues Monday at Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway after it was rained out on June 28.


Follow the Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at, or visit the series’ websites at and


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Tri-State Speedway; Haubstadt, Ind.; July 5, 2015

A-MAIN (40 LAPS) – 1. (18) Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, IL ($5,000); 2. (32) Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, IL; 3. (21JR) Billy Moyer Jr, Batesville, AR; 4. (83) Scott James, Harrison, Oh; 5. (28E) Dennis Erb, Jr, Carpentersville, IL; 6. (96) Tanner English, Benton, KY; 7. (4) Cody Mahoney, Hanover, IN; 8. (24) Ryan Unzicker, El Paso, IL; 9. (25) Jason Feger, Bloomington, IL; 10. (54) Matt Westfall, Pleasant Hill, OH; 11. (92W) Scott Weber, Festus, MO; 12. (6M) Wendell Wallace, Batesville, AR; 13. (81JR) Jason Riggs, Harrisburg, IL; 14. (78) Chad Zobrist, Highland, IL; 15. (8K) Levi Kissinger, Mt Vernon, IN; 16. (24S) Jeremy Sneed, Bluford, IL; 17. (6K) Michael Kloos, Trenton, IL; 18. (C8) Timothy Culp, Sheridan, AR; 19. (1M) Jim Moon, New Florence, MO; 20. (7R) Kent Robinson, Bloomington, IN; 21. (27M) Rodney Melvin, Benton, IL; 22. (61) Caleb Ashby, Cunningham, TN.


HEAT RACE WINNERS: Bobby Pierce, Cody Mahoney, Timothy Culp and Billy Moyer Jr.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Championship Top 20

Pos. Car Driver Points
1 32 Bobby Pierce 944
2 21JR Billy Moyer Jr. 896
3 25 Jason Feger 844
4 18 Shannon Babb 839
5 24 Ryan Unzicker 795
6 8C Timothy Culp 681
7 1M Jim Moon 578
8 21 Billy Moyer 518
9 124 John Hahler 433
10 6K Michael Kloos 413
11 89 Mike Spatola 298
12 28E Dennis Erb Jr. 298
13 99JR Frank Heckenast Jr. 295
14 8K Levi Kissinger 260
15 3S Brian Shirley 253
16 27M Rodney Melvin 252
17 54 Matt Westfall 243
18 7R Kent Robinson 241
19 96 Tanner English 230
20 8 Dan Schlieper 219


2015 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

June 10 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Dennis Erb. Jr.
June 11 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Frank Heckenast Jr.
June 12 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Jimmy Mars
June 13 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Jason Feger
June 14 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Rain
June 15 Monday Off  
June 16 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Wednesday Farley Speedway Billy Moyer Jr.
June 18 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Rain
June 19 Friday Tri-City Speedway Rain
June 20 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Shannon Babb
June 21 Sunday Quincy Raceways PPD rain to June 22
June 22 Monday Quincy Raceways Rain
June 23 Tuesday Peoria Speedway Shannon Babb (2)
June 24 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
June 25 Thursday Clarksville Speedway Levi Kissinger
June 26 Friday Paducah Int. Raceway Rain
June 27 Saturday Federated I-55 Raceway Rain
June 28 Sunday Lincoln Speedway PPD rain to July 6
June 29 Monday Off  
June 30 Tuesday I-96 Speedway Rain
July 1 Wednesday Daugherty Speedway Jason Feger (2)
July 2 Thursday LaSalle Speedway Chris Simpson
July 3 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Billy Moyer
July 4 Saturday Highland Speedway Jason Feger (3)
July 5 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Shannon Babb (3)
July 6 Monday Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL
July 7 Tuesday Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, IL
July 8 Wednesday Florence Speedway Union, KY
July 9 Thursday Macon Speedway Macon, IL
July 10 Friday Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, IL
July 11 Saturday Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communications Provider), VP Racing Fuel (Official Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, QuarterMaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Petroff Towing.