Babb Pounds Peoria

Shannon Babb celebrates in Peoria Speedway Victory Lane -

Babb Scores Peoria Speedway DIRTcar Summer Nationals Triumph, Boosts Point Lead

PEORIA, Ill. – July 6, 2011 – Shannon Babb has officially returned to form on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour after winning Wednesday night at Peoria Speedway.

(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Babb, of Moweaqua, Ill., started third and used lapped traffic to move under Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind., on lap 25 and led the remainder of the 40-lap feature event to claim his third win of the 2011 tour worth $5,000. James, the nearest competitor to Babb in the ‘Hell Tour’ point standings entering the night at 120 markers behind, held on to finish second. Matt Miller, of Waterville, Ohio, finished third ahead of pole sitter Wes Steidinger, of Fairbury, Ill.  Pinconning, Mich., driver Jeep Van Wormer rounded out the top five, his third consecutive top-five finish in the previous four events.


Babb moves low on James for the lead –

With his victory, Babb extends his points lead to 125 markers over James  and to 189 points over defending DIRTcar Summer Nationals Champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., who finished 10th.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer National

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action Thursday, July 7, at Macon (Ill.) Speedway.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; Peoria Speedway; Peoria, Ill.; July 6, 2011

A-Main (40-Laps): 1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Scott James, 3. Matt Miller, 4. Wes Steidinger, 5. Jeep Van Wormer, 6. Steve Lance Jr., 7. Mike Mullvain, 8. Tim Lance, 9. Kevin Weaver, 10. Jason Feger, 11. Ryan Unzicker, 12. Dennis Erb Jr., 13. Brian Shirley, 14. Donny Walden, 15. Scott Schmitt, 16. Brandon Shepprad, 17. Mike Spatola, 18. Doug Drown, 19. Mike Provenzane, 20. Todd Bennett, 21. Rusty Schlenk, 22. Jack Sullivan. Fast qualifiers (among 38 cars): VanWormer, Babb, Drake, James. Heat race winners: Van Wormer, Babb, Steidinger, James. B-Main winner: Spatola. Provisional starters: Shirley, Unzicker, Erb, Bennett.

2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule




Winner (Cars)

June 15

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

PPD/July 12

June 16

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, Ill.

Mike Spatola (37)

June 17

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Scott James (29)

June 18

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Canceled Rain

June 20

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.

PPD/July 13

June 21

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.

PPD/July 14

June 22

Highland Speedway

Highland, Ill.

Scott James (50)

June 23

Fayette County Speedway

Brownstown, Ill.

Jason Feger (48)

June 24

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, Ill.

Dan Schlieper (52)

June 25

Fairbury American Legion Speedway

Fairbury, Ill.

PPD/July 23

June 26

I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, Mich.

Shannon Babb(46)

June 28

Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, Ind.

Shannon Babb (22)

June 29

Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, Ill.

Michael Kloos (32)

June 30

Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, Tenn.

Mike Spatola (30)

July 1

Paducah International Raceway

Paducah, Ky.

Ray Cook(40)

July 2

I-55 Raceway

Pevely, Mo.

Billy Moyer(41)

July 3

Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, Ill.

Brandon Sheppard (35)

July 4

34 Raceway

Burlington, Iowa

Brian Birkhofer(26)

July 6

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, Ill.

Shannon Babb (38)

July 7

Macon Speedway

Macon, Ill.

July 8

Farmer City Raceway

Farmer City, Ill.

July 9

Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, Tenn.

July 10

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, Ind.

July 12

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

July 13

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.

July 14

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.

July 15

Attica Raceway Park

Attica, Ohio

July 16

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Competition Series Air Filters, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.