Babb Scores Second Straight

PUTNAMVILLE, Ind. – June 28, 2011 – Shannon Babb is officially off and running on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour.


(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)



Babb, a two-time Summer Nationals champion, started fourth and moved past current DIRTcar Late Model National point leader Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., on lap 14 of the 40-lap event.  Babb turned away all challenges over the events final 26 circuits to score the $5,000 winner’s prize.  The win is the Moweaqua, Ill., native’s second straight on the 2011 Hell Tour, and helps him extend his Summer Nationals point lead over Scott James, Jason Feger, and the rest of the Summer Nationals Tour regulars.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

Defending Summer Nationals champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., crossed the line second after moving in front of Unzicker on the final lap.  Unzicker held on to finish third ahead of home state driver Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind., and rising star Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill.


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will return to action Wednesday, June 29 at Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, Ill.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; Lincoln Park Speedway; Putnamville, Ind.; June 28, 2011

A-Main (40-Laps):   1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Jason Feger, 3. Ryan Unzicker, 4. Scott James, 5. Brandon Sheppard, 6. Frank Heckenast Jr., 7. Dennis Erb Jr., 8. Brian Shirley, 9. Jack Sullivan, 10. Billy Moyer Jr., 11. Bobby Pierce, 12. Greg Johnson, 13. Dillan White, 14. Donny Walden, 15. Greg Kendall, 16. Kevin Weaver, 17. Joe Deckard, 18. Kent Robinson, 19. Kenny Carmichael, 20. Jon Dome, 21. Bob Robinson.  

 Ryan Unzicker, Scott James, Brian Shirley, Jon Dome, Kent Robinson. Scratch: Don O’Neal.

Heat 2: Frank Heckenast Jr., Brandon Sheppard, Bobby Pierce, Billy Moyer Jr., Dillan White, Kenny Carmichael, Kevin Weaver, Bob Robinson.

Heat 1: Jason Feger, Shannon Babb, Dennis Erb Jr., Jack Sullivan, Donny Walden, Greg Johnson, Greg Kendall, Joe Deckard.

Time Trials (Unofficial)

First group
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 13.187
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 13.339
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 13.41
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 13.478
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 13.56
Greg Kendall (44), Paloi, Ind., 13.717
Greg Johnson (49), Bedford, Ind., 13.938
Joe Deckard (1d), Martinsville, Ind., 14.603

Second group
Frank Heckenast Jr. (99jr), Frankfort, Ill., 13.485
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 13.543
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 13.696
Bobby Pierce (32), Oakwood, Ill., 13.815
Kevin Weaver (31), Gibson City, Ill., 13.945
Dillan White (54), Crofton, Ky., 14.015
Kenny Carmichael (39), Terre Haute, Ind., 14.618
Bob Robinson (35), Stilesville, Ind., 16.838

Third group
Don O’Neal (71), Martinsville, Ind., 13.657
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 13.752
Kent Robinson (7r), Bloomington, Ind., 13.788
Scott James (81), Lawrenceburg, Ind., 13.831
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill., 14.079
Jon Dome (22), Brazil, Ind., 14.707
Marty O’Neal (19), Spencer, Ind., no time


2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule




Winner (Cars)

June 15

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

PPD/July 12

June 16

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, Ill.

Mike Spatola (37)

June 17

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Scott James (29)

June 18

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Canceled Rain

June 20

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.

PPD/July 13

June 21

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.

PPD/July 14

June 22

Highland Speedway

Highland, Ill.

Scott James (50)

June 23

Fayette County Speedway

Brownstown, Ill.

Jason Feger (48)

June 24

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, Ill.

Dan Schlieper (52)

June 25

Fairbury American Legion Speedway

Fairbury, Ill.

PPD/July 23

June 26

I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, Mich.

Shannon Babb (46)

June 28

Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, Ind.

Shannon Babb (22)

June 29

Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, Ill.

June 30

Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, Tenn.

July 1

Paducah International Raceway

Paducah, Ky.

July 2

I-55 Raceway

Pevely, Mo.

July 3

Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, Ill.

July 4

34 Raceway

Burlington, Iowa

July 6

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, Ill.

July 7

Macon Speedway

Macon, Ill.

July 8

Farmer City Raceway

Farmer City, Ill.

July 9

Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, Tenn.

July 10

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, Ind.

July 12

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

July 13

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.

July 14

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.

July 15

Attica Raceway Park

Attica, Ohio

July 16

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Performance, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.