Babb Blasts to Attica Win


Babb Blasts to Attica Raceway Park Summer Nationals Victory


Attica, Ohio  – July 13, 2012 – Defending DIRTcar Summer Nationals Champion Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., won his fourth ‘Hell Tour’ main event Friday night at Attica Raceway Park.  Babb took home the $5,000 top prize for his efforts.

(For late breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’, click here to follow along on Twitter.)


Babb swapped the second position with defending DIRTcar Late Model National Champion Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., throughout the middle stages of the 40-lap main event.


“Every time we’ve been here to Attica, Ryan has been really good on the bottom,” Babb said.  “He kind of showed me there was something down there.”


He then past Frank Heckenast Jr., of Frankfort, Ill., on a lap 37 restart to claim the win.


“I knew I had him because I rolled the top so good on the restart,” Babb said. “I had been having a little trouble up there because it was a little treacherous and you could jump it easy but on that last restart I hit it really good and it shot me down the backstretch.”


Unzicker moved past Heckenast on the last lap to finish second.  Heckenast finished third after leading the feature for the initial 36 circuits. Current Hell Tour point leader Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., finished fourth and home state driver Jon Henry of Ada, Ohio, rounded out the top five.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)


Points leader Brian Shirley will try to wrap up his first Hell Tour championship Saturday night when DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour invades Oakshade Raceway in Wauseon, Ohio, for the $10,000-to-win Birthday Race.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Attica Raceway Park; Attica, Ohio; July 13, 2012 A-Main (40-laps): 1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Ryan Unzicker, 3. Frank Heckenast Jr., 4. Brian Shirley, 5. Jon Henry, 6. Scott James, 7. Brandon Sheppard, 8. Jason McBride, 9. Ryan Missler, 10. Jason Feger, 11. Rusty Schlenk, 12. Jeep Van Wormer, 13. Mike Spatola, 14. Ryan Markham, 15. Dona Marcoullier, 16. Andrew Reaume, 17. Jerry Lierly, 18. Justin Chance, 19. Matt Miller, 20. Jeff Babcock, 21. Mike Bores, 22. Nick Bartels. Fast qualifiers (among 54 cars): Babb, Heckenast, Feger, Unzicker, Sheppard. Heat race winners: Babb, Shirley, Henry, Heckenast, Unzicker. B-main winner: Schlenk. C-main winners: Bartels, Nate Potts. Provisional starters: Spatola, Miller, Bores, Bartels.


2012 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule




Winner (Cars)


Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN

Billy Moyer Jr. (49)


Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, IL

Shannon Babb(45)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Billy Moyer Jr. (37)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Billy Moyer Jr. (32)


Wilmot Raceway

Wilmot, WI

Ryan Unzicker (31)


Spoon River Speedway

Canton, IL

Jon Henry (38)


Highland Speedway

Highland, IL

Rodney Melvin (42)


Fayette Co. Speedway

Brownstown, IL

Brian Shirley (41)


Tri City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, IL

Billy Moyer (43)


Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL

Brian Shirley (41)


I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, MI

Shannon Babb (36)


Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, IN

Jason Feger (21)


Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, IL

Jason Feger (34)


Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, TN

Brandon Sheppard (28)


Paducah Int. Raceway

Paducah, KY

Brian Birkhofer (35)


Federated Auto Parts I-55

Pevely, MO

Billy Moyer (34)


Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, IL

Canceled (Heat)


Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL

Brian Shirley (41)


Jacksonville Speedway

Jacksonville, IL

Jason Feger (40)


Lasalle Speedway

Lasalle, IL

Brian Birkhofer (36)


Macon Speedway

Macon, IL

Brian Shirley (38)


Quincy Raceways

Quincy, IL

Brian Shirley (31)


Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, TN

Dennis Erb Jr. (32)


Tri State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN

Scott Weber (28)


Florence Speedway

Union, KY

Shannon Babb (44)


Brushcreek Motorsports

Pebbles, OH

Eddie Carrier Jr. (32)


Terre Haute Action Track

Terre Haute, IN

Don O’Neal (22)


Attica Raceway Park

Attica, OH

Shannon Babb (54)


Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, OH


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals (The Hell Tour) is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine contingency sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Chevy Performance Parts, Intercomp, JE Pistons, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Ignition, Ohlins Shocks, Quartermaster, Superflow Dyno’s, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), Wix Filters, and Wrisco Aluminum.