34 Raceway Win to Birkhofer

Birkhofer Dominates 34 Raceway Summer Nationals Hell Tour Event

BURLINGTON, Iowa – July 4, 2011 – Brian Birkhofer left no doubt Monday night during the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour event at 34 Raceway.

(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

The Muscatine native led every lap from the pole, building large leads at times to claim his first Summer Nationals triumph of 2011 worth $5,000.  Jack Sullivan scored his second straight top three finish coming home second after 40 laps.  Former ‘Hell Tour’ Champion Dennis Erb Jr. finished third after starting seventh.  Jeep VanWormer of Pinconning, Mich., chased Erb to the front from his eighth starting spot to finish fourth.  Defending Summer Nationals champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., rounded out the top five.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

Current ‘Hell Tour’ point leader Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., finished 12th in the main event to retain his point lead over Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind.,  James finished 9th in the main event after starting 11th.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will take Tuesday night off and return to action Wednesday, July 6 at Peoria (Ill.) Speedway.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; 34 Raceway; Burlington, Iowa; July 4, 2011

A-Main (40-Laps): 1. Brian Birkhofer ($5,000), 2. Jack Sullivan, 3. Dennis Erb Jr., 4. Jeep Van Wormer, 5. Jason Feger, 6. Chad Simpson, 7. Chris Simpson, 8. Brian Shirley, 9. Scott James, 10. Matt Miller, 11. Dillan White, 12. Shannon Babb, 13. Wes Steidinger, 14. Bobby Pierce, 15. Denny Woodworth, 16. Donny Walden, 17. Brandon Sheppard, 18. Jerry Lierly, 19. Kent Robinson, 20. Mark Burgtorf, 21. Tom Bowling Jr., 22. Scott Schmitt, 23. Ryan Unzicker. Fast qualifiers (among 26 cars): Birkhofer Unzicker, Walden. Heat race winners: Birkhofer, Chris Simpson, Sullivan. C-Main winner: Pierce. Provisional starters: Robinson, Schmitt, Woodworth, Lierly, Bowling.

2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule




Winner (Cars)

June 15

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

PPD/July 12

June 16

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, Ill.

Mike Spatola (37)

June 17

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Scott James (29)

June 18

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Canceled Rain

June 20

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.

PPD/July 13

June 21

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.

PPD/July 14

June 22

Highland Speedway

Highland, Ill.

Scott James (50)

June 23

Fayette County Speedway

Brownstown, Ill.

Jason Feger (48)

June 24

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, Ill.

Dan Schlieper (52)

June 25

Fairbury American Legion Speedway

Fairbury, Ill.

PPD/July 23

June 26

I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, Mich.

Shannon Babb(46)

June 28

Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, Ind.

Shannon Babb (22)

June 29

Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, Ill.

Michael Kloos (32)

June 30

Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, Tenn.

Mike Spatola (30)

July 1

Paducah International Raceway

Paducah, Ky.

Ray Cook(40)

July 2

I-55 Raceway

Pevely, Mo.

Billy Moyer(41)

July 3

Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, Ill.

Brandon Sheppard (35)

July 4

34 Raceway

Burlington, Iowa

Brian Birkhofer(26)

July 6

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, Ill.

July 7

Macon Speedway

Macon, Ill.

July 8

Farmer City Raceway

Farmer City, Ill.

July 9

Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, Tenn.

July 10

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, Ind.

July 12

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

July 13

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.

July 14

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.

July 15

Attica Raceway Park

Attica, Ohio

July 16

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Competition Series Air Filters, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.