2016 Point Fund Format Announced

Championship and Weekly Point Fund Format for the 2016 DIRTcar Late Model Summer Nationals Announced

The Summer Nationals kicks off on June 15, 2016 at Brownstown (Indiana) Speedway

CONCORD, N.C. – Dec. 21, 2015 – DIRTcar announced today the format and payout for the 2016 Late Model Summer Nationals championship.  

In 2016, the demanding schedule will be divided into five separate weeks crowning weekly champions and rewards from a weekly point fund. Each of the weekly point funds pay the top-ten drivers that week, with $2,000 going to the week’s champion. Drivers competing for a position in the points fund payout must attempt to qualify for all races during that week. The points for the weekly points fund will be reset each Monday with all points, regardless of finishing position, transferring to the series championship standings.

The Late Model Summer Nationals championship will be awarded to the driver with the highest cumulative points earner through the entire tour. The $30,000 championship points fund pays the top-five finishers with $15,000 to the winner.

“We are excited to introduce this new format for the DIRTcar Late Model Summer Nationals championship,” said DIRTcar UMP Director Sam Driggers. “We believe this new feature will add a special dimension to the 2016 Summer Nationals and provide extra incentive and competition in one of the most grueling schedules in all of motorsports.”

In addition to the format announcement, the series adds Plymouth (Ind.) Speedway and Merritt Speedway for the first time ever. The Summer Nationals takes on the 3/8 mile oval of Plymouth on July 12 before heading north to Merritt in Lake City, Michigan on July 14.  

The Summer Nationals is annually one of the most grueling and competitive series in motorsports. The last four seasons have seen three different champions, including last year’s winner Bobby Pierce. The 18-year-old was the youngest champion in series history and with his father Bob became the first ever father and son to win the Summer Nationals title. In 2014, Brian Shirley became a first-time champion of the series after racking up five wins.


1 $15,000 $2,000 $2,000 $2,000 $2,000 $2,000
2 $7,500 $1,000 $1,000 $1,000 $1,000 $1,000
3 $3,500 $500 $500 $500 $500 $500
4 $2,500 $450 $450 $450 $450 $450
5 $1,500 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300
6   $200 $200 $200 $200 $200
7   $175 $175 $175 $175 $175
8   $150 $150 $150 $150 $150
9   $125 $125 $125 $125 $125
10   $100 $100 $100 $100 $100
TOTAL $30,000 $5,000 $5,000 $5,000 $5,000 $5,000

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at
http://www.Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at www.TheHellTour.com and www.ModifiedNationals.com.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.