DIRTcar Summer Nationals / Summit Modified Nationals
Merritt Speedway | Lake City, MI
Saturday, July 23, 2022

Tickets can be purchased at the gate.

For more information, call the track at (231) 842-7223

Event Info

DIRTcar Summer Nationals / Summit Modified Nationals
July 23, 2022
Merritt Speedway
4430 East Houghton Lake Road
Lake City, MI 

Event Description
Championship night for the DIRTcar Summer Nationals at Merritt Speedway will cap off the Late Model tour with the crowning of a champion!

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals will continue their own Hell Tour before crowning their champion at Prairie Dirt Classic.

$10,000 to win for Late Models, $1,500 for UMP Modifieds.

Series Racing
Summit Modified Nationals

Late Model Track Record
12.950 seconds by Eric Spangler in 1999

Support Divisions
DIRTcar Late Models

To Win Amount

Feature Laps Length

Frequently Asked Questions
Support Divisions
DIRTcar Late Models

To Win Amount

Track Info
Track Phone
(231) 842-7223

Track Email

Track Size & Type

Late Model Car Track Record
12.950 seconds by Eric Spangler in 1999

Competitor Info
DIRTVision Highlights
Race Recap

BAUER FORWARD: Bauer Dominates at Merritt to Win Second Career Summit Modified Feature

It took him several seasons to win his first, but only one week to win his second.

Chad Bauer is once again a DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Feature winner, exactly one week after winning his first at Oakshade Raceway in Ohio. This time, it was in his home state of Michigan at a track where he currently leads the points standings – Merritt Speedway.

“I’ve been coming here since 1995, so I’ve been here a long time,” Bauer said. “We’ve run really good here for a lot of years.”

Bauer (19) fends off Thirlby in the final laps (47) (Terry Page Photo)

It’s his fourth victory of the season at the 3/8-mile oval – one he led from green-to-checkered to bag the Saturday night victory. Though he was dominant out front, Bauer did receive some pressure in the final laps from Friday’s Feature winner, Collin Thirlby, but held strong in the end.

“I got the lead and I held the bottom, expecting Collin [Thirlby] or Joe Rokos, or somebody to be coming around the top, but I never saw anybody,” Bauer said. “At the end, I screwed up a few times and I heard Collin, he was right there. But, we were able to pull it off.”


The Summit Modifieds are still scheduled to contest the remainder of the program from Wednesday night’s rainout at Thunderbird Raceway in Muskegon, MI on Sunday, July 24. Gates open at 2pm, racing picks up where it left off at 5pm.

If you can’t be there in person, watch all the action live on DIRTVision.

ABBREVIATED RESULTS (view full results)

Feature 25 Laps | 00:21:42.477

  1. 19B-Chad Bauer[1]; 2. 47-Collin Thirlby[2]; 3. 3B-Brian Brindley[6]; 4. 77-Joe Rokos[3]; 5. 92-Caleb Kill[5]; 6. 99B-Brent Banning[9]; 7. 60-Nate Wilbur[7]; 8. 66-Adam Hammer[16]; 9. 20-Kevin Miller[8]; 10. 9-Garrett Rons[10]; 11. 15-Brenden Baker[14]; 12. 42-Matt Bouschor[12]; 13. 62-Daryl Lehn[11]; 14. 17-Thomas Wilbur[13]; 15. 1*-Wyatt Baker[4]; 16. 18W- Dan Wierman[17]; 17. 4J-Paul Johnson[18]; 18. 18-Jacob Stuhr[15]
[Read More]
Feature Results
11019BChad Bauer 250.00024Running75$1,500
22047Collin Thirlby 25-0.3650Running70$700
36+33BBrian Brindley 25-1.9180Running65$400
43-177Joe Rokos 25-1.9410Running60$300
55092Caleb Kill 25-2.9550Running55$275
69+399BBrent Banning 25-3.8190Running50$250
77060Nate Wilbur 25-4.7610Running48$225
816+866Adam Hammer 25-5.3470Running46$200
98-120Kevin Miller 25-5.6120Running44$175
101009Garrett Rons 25-6.9061Running42$150
1114+315Brenden Baker 25-8.4850Running40$150
1212042Matt Bouschor 25-9.5020Running39$150
1311-262Daryl Lehn 19-6 Laps0DNF38$150
1413-117Thomas Wilbur 19-6 Laps0DNF37$150
154-111*Wyatt Baker 15-10 Laps0DNF36$150
1617+118WDan Wierman 14-11 Laps0DNF35$150
1718+14JPaul Johnson 10-15 Laps0DNF34$150
1815-318Jacob Stuhr 10-15 Laps0DNF33$150
Heat 1 Results
11019BChad Bauer Farwell, MI0.000
23+177Joe Rokos Interlochen, MI-1.247
32-192Caleb Kill Mcbain, MI-3.187
45+160Nate Wilbur Manistee, MI-5.484
54-199BBrent Banning West Branch, MI-6.341
67+162Daryl Lehn Traverse City, MI-7.509
79+217Thomas Wilbur Freesoil, MI-11.070
86-218Jacob Stuhr Harrison, MI9.616
98-118WDan Wierman Traverse City, MIDNS
Heat 2 Results
11047Collin Thirlby Traverse City, MI0.000
24+21*Wyatt Baker Manton, MI-2.412
35+23BBrian Brindley West Branch, MI-2.849
47+320Kevin Miller Mount Pleasant, MI-3.182
58+39Garrett Rons Livonia, MI-4.668
69+342Matt Bouschor Traverse City, MI-6.387
72-515Brenden Baker Grand Rapids, MI-7.046
86-266Adam Hammer Traverse City, MI-9.267
93-64JPaul Johnson Arcadia, MI152.338
Qualifying Results
1819BChad Bauer 14.6530.000
2192Caleb Kill 14.992-0.339
3677Joe Rokos 15.175-0.522
4799BBrent Banning 15.492-0.839
5560Nate Wilbur 15.492-0.839
6918Jacob Stuhr 15.496-0.843
7462Daryl Lehn 15.523-0.870
8318WDan Wierman 15.736-1.083
9217Thomas Wilbur 16.548-1.895
Qualifying Flight 2 Results
1747Collin Thirlby 15.0640.000
2815Brenden Baker 15.211-0.147
334JPaul Johnson 15.441-0.377
461*Wyatt Baker 15.460-0.396
543BBrian Brindley 15.534-0.470
6966Adam Hammer 15.543-0.479
7220Kevin Miller 15.588-0.524
819Garrett Rons 15.694-0.630
9542Matt Bouschor 15.779-0.715