DIRTcar Summer Nationals / Summit Modified Nationals
Friday, July 22, 2022

Tickets can be purchased at the gate.

For more information, call the track at (989) 316-6804

Event Info

DIRTcar Summer Nationals / Summit Modified Nationals
July 22, 2022
Tri-City Motor Speedway
85 Wheeler Rd
Auburn, MI 

Event Description
$10,000 to win for Late Models, $1,500 for UMP Modifieds.

Series Racing
Summit Modified Nationals DIRTcar Late Models

Late Model Track Record
12.349 seconds by Dona Marcoullier in 9/2014

To Win Amount

Feature Laps Length

Frequently Asked Questions
Support Divisions
DIRTcar Late Models

To Win Amount

Track Info
Track Phone
(989) 316-6804

Track Size & Type

Late Model Car Track Record
12.349 seconds by Dona Marcoullier in 9/2014

Competitor Info
DIRTVision Highlights
Race Recap

DIAMOND IN THE SMOOTH: Thirlby Wins First Summit Modified Feature at TCMS

For the third time in as many races, the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals has seen a first-time winner.

Friday night at Tri-City Motor Speedway, Collin Thirlby etched his name into the record books, becoming the 77th different winner in the 12-year history of the series. To do it, Thirlby pressured leader Brian Brindley for over half of the 25-lap event and eventually made the move on him with nine-to-go, taking the lead for good.

Terry Page Photo

“I just followed [Brindley], kept the car straight, kept the tires under me,” Thirlby said. “I saw Shannon Fisk – he was running the bottom, and I think with as many laps as I have around this place, I kinda knew where to go.”

Thirlby is a dealer/builder of the Diamond Race Cars chassis that he drives and has tuned it to his liking for the slick-and-smooth Tri-City track surface, which, coupled with his experience at TCMS, gave him the edge over his competition.

“The biggest thing is that I just have a lot of laps around here,” Thirlby said. “The track gets black-slick, top-to-bottom. These Diamond Race Cars, they’re known to be really good when it gets black like that.”

Thirlby (47) working past Shannon Fisk (60) for second (Terry Page Photo)

After working on Brindley since the drop of the green, Thirlby finally slipped by with a great run to his inside out of Turn 4 on Lap 16, and sped off, leading the rest of the distance en route to Victory Lane.


The DIRTcar Summit Modifieds are back in action Saturday, July 23, at Merritt Speedway in Lake City, MI. If you can’t be at the track, watch all the action live on DIRTVision.

ABBREVIATED RESULTS (view full results)

Feature 25 Laps | 00:12:15.508

  1. 47-Collin Thirlby[3]; 2. 60-Shannon Fisk[1]; 3. 3B-Brian Brindley[2]; 4. 77-Joe Rokos[12]; 5. 19B-Chad Bauer[4]; 6. 92- Caleb Kill[6]; 7. 50-Chad Bennett[17]; 8. 1*-Wyatt Baker[5]; 9. 10-Jaycob Truemner[16]; 10. 66-Adam Hammer[11]; 11. 60W-Nate Wilbur[14]; 12. 9-Garrett Rons[7]; 13. 15-Brenden Baker[9]; 14. 81-Rick Swartout[18]; 15. 29-Steve Shellenberger[13]; 16. 99B-Brent Banning[8]; 17. 17-Thomas Wilbur[15]; 18. 20-Kevin Miller[10]
[Read More]
Feature Results
13+247Collin Thirlby 250.00010Running75$2,000
21-160Shannon Fisk 25-1.3552Running70$1,000
32-13BBrian Brindley 25-4.93113Running65$700
412+877Joe Rokos 25-5.0140Running60$500
54-119BChad Bauer 25-5.3210Running55$400
66092Caleb Kill 25-5.9950Running50$300
717+1050Chad Bennett 25-6.6040Running48$280
85-31*Wyatt Baker 25-9.3420Running46$260
916+710Jaycob Truemner 25-9.8180Running44$240
1011+166Adam Hammer 25-10.8780Running42$220
1114+360WNate Wilbur 25-14.6150Running40$200
127-59Garrett Rons 25-17.3550Running39$175
139-415Brenden Baker 24-1 Laps0Running38$150
1418+481Rick Swartout 24-1 Laps0Running37$150
1513-229Steve Shellenberger 24-1 Laps0Running36$150
168-899BBrent Banning 10-15 Laps0DNF35$150
1715-217Thomas Wilbur 7-18 Laps0DNF34$150
1810-820Kevin Miller 6-19 Laps0DNF33$150
Heat 1 Results
11060Shannon Fisk Lowell, MI0.000
22047Collin Thirlby Traverse City, MI-281.840
37+41*Wyatt Baker Manton, MI-284.468
45+19Garrett Rons Livonia, MI-284.964
59+415Brenden Baker Grand Rapids, MI-285.499
66066Adam Hammer Traverse City, MI-285.894
74-329Steve Shellenberger Marshall, MI-286.093
88017Thomas Wilbur Freesoil, MI-289.322
93-650Chad Bennett Caro, MI-269.142
Heat 2 Results
13+23BBrian Brindley West Branch, MI0.000
21-119BChad Bauer Farwell, MI-121.791
32-192Caleb Kill Mcbain, MI-123.280
48+499BBrent Banning West Branch, MI-124.255
54-120Kevin Miller Mount Pleasant, MI-124.878
65-177Joe Rokos Interlochen, MI-127.607
76-160WNate Wilbur Manistee, MI-127.686
89+110Jaycob Truemner Imlay, MI-128.124
97-281Rick Swartout Union City, MI-129.492
Qualifying Results
1160Shannon Fisk 13.6080.000
2447Collin Thirlby 13.726-0.118
3950Chad Bennett 13.731-0.123
4729Steve Shellenberger 13.942-0.334
529Garrett Rons 14.171-0.563
6366Adam Hammer 14.178-0.570
761*Wyatt Baker 14.194-0.586
8517Thomas Wilbur 14.882-1.274
9815Brenden Baker 14.882-1.274
Qualifying Flight 2 Results
1219BChad Bauer 13.5880.000
2792Caleb Kill 13.895-0.307
393BBrian Brindley 13.989-0.401
4120Kevin Miller 14.102-0.514
5877Joe Rokos 14.130-0.542
6360WNate Wilbur 14.244-0.656
7481Rick Swartout 14.388-0.800
8599BBrent Banning 14.395-0.807
9610Jaycob Truemner 14.713-1.125