DIRTcar Summer Nationals / Summit Modified Nationals
Fayette County Speedway | Brownstown, Illinois
Thursday, June 30, 2022
Race Recap  

HEAVYWEIGHT BOUT: Hoffman Tops Harrison at Fayette County for Ninth Win of Season

They met once already this season in DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Feature action, and Thursday night’s clash of Nick Hoffman and Mike Harrison at Fayette County Speedway was another one for the record books.

The two multi-time champions won their Heat Races and rolled to the track for the Feature on the front row. At the drop of the green, Hoffman got the jump into the lead and began playing defense against Harrison’s big run on the top.

Hoffman celebrates with son Maddox in Victory Lane (Josh James Artwork)

Hoffman stuck mostly to the bottom lane in the 25-lap event, taking heed from the Late Model race before the Modified Feature.

“Just watching that Late Model Feature, I judge a lot of what I do off of what those guys end up doing,” Hoffman, of Mooresville, NC, said. “The Late Model race was won on the bottom, so I did the same.”

Though Harrison gave it everything the car had on the top, he was unable to catch Hoffman in the end. Hoffman cruised across the stripe for his 66th career Summit Modified victory and ninth of the season in 11 starts.

Hoffman collected his 66th career Summit Modified victory Thursday night. (Josh James Artwork)

“I was more worried about Kelly Kovski and those Elite [Chassis] guys that could roll around the infield pretty well,” Hoffman said. “Kelly ended up third, Kyle [Steffens] ended up fourth, so it was a good night for us.”


The Summit Modifieds return to action Friday night at Paducah International Raceway in Paducah, KY. If you can’t be at the track, stream all the action live on DIRTVision.

ABBREVIATED RESULTS (view full results)

Feature 25 Laps | 00:11:09.356

  1. 2-Nick Hoffman[2]; 2. 24H-Mike Harrison[1]; 3. 10K-Kelly Kovski[4]; 4. 8-Kyle Steffens[3]; 5. 87Z-Zeb Moake[9]; 6. 63-Bret Eilerman[11]; 7. 33S-Steve Stevenson[6]; 8. 7-Willie Gammill[7]; 9. 88-Chris Bolyard[10]; 10. 4M-Clint Martin[12]; 11. 26- Anthony Carter[13]; 12. 27-Keith Harre[14]; 13. 71-Rayce Baker[16]; 14. 51-Phil Bible[17]; 15. 36-Kenny Wallace[5]; 16. 0- Damian Kiefer[15]; 17. 21M-Willy Myers[8]
[Read More]
Feature Results
12+12Nick Hoffman 250.00025Running75$1,500
21-124HMike Harrison 25-5.9730Running70$700
34+110KKelly Kovski 25-6.7770Running65$400
43-18Kyle Steffens 25-8.7690Running60$300
59+487ZZeb Moake 25-12.3620Running55$275
611+563Bret Eilerman 25-12.9940Running50$250
76-133SSteve Stevenson 25-15.2030Running48$225
87-17Willie Gammill 25-15.5370Running46$200
910+1-88Chris Bolyard 24-1 Laps0Running44$175
1012+24MClint Martin 24-1 Laps0Running42$150
1113+226Anthony Carter 24-1 Laps0Running40$150
1214+227Keith Harre 14-11 Laps0DNF39$150
1316+371Rayce Baker 14-11 Laps0DNF38$150
1417+351Phil Bible 13-12 Laps0DNF37$150
155-1036Kenny Wallace 7-18 Laps0DNF36$150
1615-10Damian Kiefer 5-20 Laps0DNF35$150
178-921MWilly Myers 1-24 Laps0DNF34$150
Hard Charger: Bret Eilerman
Heat 1 Results
1324HMike Harrison 119.7050.000
218Kyle Steffens 121.052-1.347
3236Kenny Wallace 123.146-3.441
447Willie Gammill 124.948-5.243
5687ZZeb Moake 126.407-6.702
6763Bret Eilerman 128.552-8.847
7826Anthony Carter 131.834-12.129
850Damian Kiefer 132.461-12.756
9951Phil Bible 103.52616.179
Heat 2 Results
122Nick Hoffman 119.1920.000
2310KKelly Kovski 122.467-3.275
3133SSteve Stevenson 123.724-4.532
4421MWilly Myers 125.308-6.116
56-88Chris Bolyard 126.420-7.228
654MClint Martin 129.371-10.179
7727Keith Harre 129.555-10.363
8871Rayce Baker 131.524-12.332
Qualifying Flight 1 Results
15+48Kyle Steffens 00.0000Running0$0
27+536Kenny Wallace 0-0.0720Running0$0
36+324HMike Harrison 0-0.2240Running0$0
42-27Willie Gammill 0-0.3140Running0$0
54-10Damian Kiefer 0-1.3690Running0$0
63-387ZZeb Moake 0-1.4850Running0$0
79+263Bret Eilerman 0-1.4950Running0$0
81-726Anthony Carter 0-1.6090Running0$0
98-151Phil Bible 0-2.0400Running0$0
Hard Charger: Kenny Wallace
Qualifying Flight 2 Results
17+633SSteve Stevenson 00.0000Running0$0
26+42Nick Hoffman 0-0.0010Running0$0
35+210KKelly Kovski 0-0.3440Running0$0
44021MWilly Myers 0-0.4620Running0$0
52-34MClint Martin 0-0.8610Running0$0
63-3-88Chris Bolyard 0-0.9470Running0$0
78+127Keith Harre 0-0.9790Running0$0
81-771Rayce Baker 0-1.3250Running0$0
Hard Charger: Steve Stevenson
DIRTVision Highlights  
Event Info  

DIRTcar Summer Nationals / Summit Modified Nationals
Thursday, June 30, 2022
Fayette County Speedway
322 W Cumberland Rd
Brownstown, Illinois 

Event Description
$10,000 to win for Late Models, $1,500 for UMP Modifieds.

Series Racing
Summit Modified Nationals

Support Divisions
DIRTcar Late Models

To Win Amount

Feature Laps Length

Track Info  

Fayette County Speedway
322 W Cumberland Rd
Brownstown, Illinois 

Track Phone
(618) 427-3966

Track Type

Late Model Track Record
12.349 seconds by Tyler Reddick on 7/5/13

Track Map
Competitor Info