Hoffman Dominates for Win No. 7 at Fayette County

Terry Page Photo

BROWNSTOWN, IL – He won a record 13 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Features last year, and he’s well on his way to doing it again. Or, even better.

With Nick Hoffman’s seventh win of the 2020 season in Summit Modified action Friday night at Fayette County Speedway, he’s now one win away from maxing-out his win total for tour points at eight. And there’s still nine races left.

Terry Page Photo

Simply put, the two-time and defending Summit Modifieds champion dominated on Friday night. He started on the pole and led all 25 laps unchallenged en route to the $1,500 payday.

No big wrecks to avoid, no problems with lapped traffic. Just a cleanly ran race and another W in the books for the #7 crew.

“I was glad to see [the race] string-out and stay green,” Hoffman said. “I felt like I had a really good line and was able to clear lapped cars pretty fast. Once I did that, felt like it was smooth sailing.”

Only the eight-best finishes for each driver are taken into consideration in the overall points standings at the end of the season. Potentially, Hoffman could end the season with a total of 16 victories, if he were to win out. Hoffman’s a true competitor and has plans to compete in every remaining race, so the possibility is there.

Terry Page Photo

Hunt Gossum, the 15-year-old sensation from Mayfield, KY, had a terrific first night back as a part of the Summit Modified roster, starting third in the main event and holding off six-time tour champion Mike Harrison’s challenges to come home second.


The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modifieds are back in action Saturday night at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in another $1,500-to-win main event as part of Round #20 of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals. Catch every lap live on DIRTVision presented by Drydene.

ABBREVIATED RESULTS (click for full results)

Feature (25 Laps) 1. 7-Nick Hoffman [1][]; 2. 99-Hunt Gossum [3][]; 3. 24H-Mike Harrison [4][]; 4. 1A-Steve Meyer [8][]; 5. 28-Michael Bolyard [6][]; 6. 1TPO-Tyler Peterson [2][]; 7. 36-Kenny Wallace [10][]; 8. P27-Brody Pompe [14][]; 9. 128-Zach Schantz [5][]; 10. 59R-Jacob Rexing [13][]; 11. 24-Zeke McKenzie [19][]; 12. 327-Chuck Goodman [16][]; 13. K19-Will Krup [7][]; 14. 21M-Willy Myers [12][]; 15. 14-Rick Conoyer [18][]; 16. 66-Tyler Blankenship [9][]; 17. 22W-Wade Wenthe [11][]; 18. T6-Tommy Sheppard [17][]; 19. 28B-Lucas Pace [22][]; 20. 27-Keith Harre [21][]; 21. 88-Rob Lee [15][]; 22. 87Z-Zeb Moake [20][] Hard Charger: 24-Zeke McKenzie[+8]