BAUER FORWARD: Bauer Dominates at Merritt to Win Second Career Summit Modified Feature

It took him several seasons to win his first, but only one week to win his second.

Chad Bauer is once again a DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Feature winner, exactly one week after winning his first at Oakshade Raceway in Ohio. This time, it was in his home state of Michigan at a track where he currently leads the points standings – Merritt Speedway.

“I’ve been coming here since 1995, so I’ve been here a long time,” Bauer said. “We’ve run really good here for a lot of years.”

Bauer (19) fends off Thirlby in the final laps (47) (Terry Page Photo)

It’s his fourth victory of the season at the 3/8-mile oval – one he led from green-to-checkered to bag the Saturday night victory. Though he was dominant out front, Bauer did receive some pressure in the final laps from Friday’s Feature winner, Collin Thirlby, but held strong in the end.

“I got the lead and I held the bottom, expecting Collin [Thirlby] or Joe Rokos, or somebody to be coming around the top, but I never saw anybody,” Bauer said. “At the end, I screwed up a few times and I heard Collin, he was right there. But, we were able to pull it off.”


The Summit Modifieds are still scheduled to contest the remainder of the program from Wednesday night’s rainout at Thunderbird Raceway in Muskegon, MI on Sunday, July 24. Gates open at 2pm, racing picks up where it left off at 5pm.

If you can’t be there in person, watch all the action live on DIRTVision.

ABBREVIATED RESULTS (view full results)

Feature 25 Laps | 00:21:42.477

  1. 19B-Chad Bauer[1]; 2. 47-Collin Thirlby[2]; 3. 3B-Brian Brindley[6]; 4. 77-Joe Rokos[3]; 5. 92-Caleb Kill[5]; 6. 99B-Brent Banning[9]; 7. 60-Nate Wilbur[7]; 8. 66-Adam Hammer[16]; 9. 20-Kevin Miller[8]; 10. 9-Garrett Rons[10]; 11. 15-Brenden Baker[14]; 12. 42-Matt Bouschor[12]; 13. 62-Daryl Lehn[11]; 14. 17-Thomas Wilbur[13]; 15. 1*-Wyatt Baker[4]; 16. 18W- Dan Wierman[17]; 17. 4J-Paul Johnson[18]; 18. 18-Jacob Stuhr[15]