Walsh Scores at Jacksonville

Ray Walsh Tops Modified Nationals Field at Jacksonville Speedway 

Walsh is just the second driver in three events to win and scores his first ever on the tour

JACKSONVILLE, Ill. – June 22, 2016 – Ray Walsh held off Michael Long to score his first ever DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals win at Jacksonville Speedway on Tuesday night.

Walsh, a St. Louis-native, was on a roll throughout the night, scoring his heat race victory and starting on the outside pole. Through the feature, Walsh battled past Rick Conoyer and held off Long to pick up the win. He joins Nick Hoffman as the only other driver through three races with a Modified Nationals victory.


Former Modified Nationals Champion Kenny Wallace scored the qualifying quick time earlier in the night.

The Summit Racing DIRTcar Modified Nationals returns to action on Thursday, June 23 at Spoon River Speedway in Lewistown, Ill.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at Facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at TheHellTour.com and ModifiedNationals.com. 

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Jacksonville Speedway; Jacksonville, Ill.

1. Ray Walsh (St Louis, MO), 2. Michael Long (Fowler, IL), 3. Kenny Wallace (Concord, NC), 4. David Wietholder (Liberty, IL), 5. Allen Weisser (Peoria, IL), 6. Jeff Leka (Buffalo, IL), 7. Rick Conoyer (St Peters, MO), 8. Craig Kern (Vandalia, IL), 9. Kyle Byerline (Buffalo, IL), 10. Shawn Deering (Quincy, IL), 11. Brian Lynn (Mason City, IL), 12. Josh Allen (Trivoli, IL), 13. Ray Bollinger (Kewanee, IL), 14. Russ Coultas (Bluffs, IL), 15. Phil Dixon (Crosby, TX), 16. Charles Baker (Labelle, MO), 17. Wes Odell (Springfield, IL), 18. Jeff Curl (Fairbury, IL), 19. Steve Theivagt (Virginia, IL), 20. Ryan Blakeman (Jacksonville, IL), 21. Mike McKinney (Plainfield, IL), 22. Mike Harrison (Highland, IL),

2016 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Winner
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Nick Hoffman
June 19 Sunday Terre Haute Action Track Nick Hoffman (2)
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Ray Walsh
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway  
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway  
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway  
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway  
June 27 Monday OFF  
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway  
June 29 Wednesday Belle Clair Speedway  
June 30 Thursday Springfield Speedway  
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway  
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55  
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway  
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway  
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway  
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway  
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway  
July 8 Friday Farmer City Speedway  
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway  
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways  
July 11 Monday OFF  
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway  
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway  
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway  
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway  
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway  
July 29 Friday Fairbury Speedway  
July 30 Saturday Fairbury Speedway  


The Summit Racing Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partner : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Partners: MSD, Landrum Performance Springs, Quartermaster, JE Pistons, KSE Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Performance Friction Brakes, Schoenfeld Headers and Bell Helmets; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.