Wallace Takes Florence, Chases Title

Wallace Takes Florence, Moves Within Striking Distance of Championship


Union, Ky. — July 10, 2012 — NASCAR veteran Kenny Wallace of Concord, N.C., powered to his first DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals victory Tuesday night at Florence Speedway and moved within striking distance of an overall championship crown with four races remaining.


(Click here for more photos courtesy of SLTRacingPhotos.com)


(For breaking news from the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals, click here to follow along on Twitter.)


The $1,000 victory helped Wallace move from seventh in the Summit Modified Nationals point standings to fourth, 188 markers behind defending champion Mike Harrison of Highland, Ill., and is the only driver in the top 10 to have a better points-per-race average than Harrison. A driver’s 10-best finishes over the course of the series count toward the championship.


Wallace has competed in seven DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals races, meaning if he races in the remaining four events to use his 10-best finishes in the final point standings, he could potentially drop his worst finish, a ninth-place effort at Tri-State Speedway Sunday night in Haubstadt, Ind.


Bryan Barber of Greensburg, Ky., finished second to Wallace in the 20-lap main event.  Billy Vaughan of hometown Union, Ky., finished third. Pete Holt of Independence, Ky., and Collin Thirlby of Traverse City, Mich., rounded out the top five.


Harrison retained his DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals point lead of 42 markers over Ray Bollinger of Kewanee, Ill., with four events remaining.


(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)


The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals returns to action Wednesday night at Brushcreek Motorsports Park in Peebles, Ohio, for a $750-to-win event.


Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Florence Speedway; Union, Ky.; July 10, 2012 A-Main (20-laps): 1. Kenny Wallace($1,000), 2. Bryan Barber, 3. Billy Vaughan, 4. Pete Holt, 5. Collin Thirlby, 6. Adam Hamilton, 7. Shawn Tolson, 8. Richard Gibson, 9. Tommy Sheppard SR, 10. Larry Moreland, 11. Zachary Schroeder, 12. Tommy Sheppard Jr, 13. Chris Kruetzkamp, 14. Matt Westfall, 15. Scotty Kincaid, 16. Larry Pickelheimer, 17. Shon Flanary, 18. Trent Green, 19. Matt Hamilton, 20. Devin Gillpin, 21. Mike Bechelli, 22. David McWilliams, 23. John Holt Jr, 24. Andrew Corbin, 25. Rob Penny,


2012 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule




Winner (Cars)


Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN

Devin Gilpin (39)


Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, IL

Jeff Curl (27)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Ryan Gustin (41)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Rodney Sanders (41)


Wilmot Raceway

Wilmot, WI

Lance Arneson (52)


Spoon River Speedway

Canton, IL

David Wietholder (35)


Highland Speedway

Highland, IL

Mike Harrison (26)


Fayette Co. Speedway

Brownstown, IL

Larry Anderson (35)


Tri City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, IL

Brent Mullins (41)


Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL

Lance Dehm (31)


I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, MI

Jacob Poel (33)


Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, IN

Devin Gilpin (39)


Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, IL

Dean Hoffman (36)


Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, TN

Matt Cooper (12)


Paducah Int. Raceway

Paducah, KY

Matt Mevert (22)


Federated Auto Parts I-55

Pevely, MO

Michael Long (31)


Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, IL

Canceled (Heat)


Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL

Ray Bollinger (36)


Jacksonville Speedway

Jacksonville, IL

Ken Schrader (37)


Lasalle Speedway

Lasalle, IL

Milo Veloz Jr. (28)


Macon Speedway

Macon, IL

Ray Bollinger(31)


Quincy Raceways

Quincy, IL

Michael Long (16)


Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, TN

Clayton Miller (20)


Tri State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN

Michael Fox (53)


Florence Speedway

Union, KY

Kenny Wallace (43)


Brushcreek Motorsports

Pebbles, OH


Terre Haute Action Track

Terre Haute, IN


Attica Raceway Park

Attica, OH


Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, OH

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communications), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to contingency sponsors: Auto Meter, Bell Helmets, Beyea Headers, Bilstein Shocks, Chevy Performance Parts, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, Dominator Race Products, Eibach Springs, Fast Shafts, FK Rod Ends, Fragola Performance Systems, Impact Race Products, Intercomp, KSE Racing Products, Landrum Springs, MSD Ignitions, QA1 Motorsports, Quartermaster, Schoenfeld Headers, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and XS Power Racing Batteries.