Wallace Romps at Terre Haute

Wallace Powers to Terre Haute Action Track Summit Modified Nationals Win


Terre Haute, Ind. — July 12, 2012 —Kenny Wallace of Concord, N.C., powered to his second DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals victory of 2012 Thursday night at the Terre Haute Action Track in Terre Haute, Ind.


(Click here for more photos courtesy of STLRacingPhotos.com)


(For breaking news from the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals, click here to follow along on Twitter.)


Wallace, a widely known NASCAR driver and SPEED TV analyst, drove around Tyler Nicely of Owensboro, Ky., on lap two after the duo raced side by side on the opening lap. Wallace earned $700 for the win.


“The thing was when we went single file we started second and I knew my only chance was to drive it down into turn one like Jack Hewitt,” explained Wallace. “I knew Tyler was going to go to the bottom so my only chance is to pounce on it on the outside.”


“My car was really good tonight, my crew chief Billy Smith ordered some new parts and I guess they worked because it had incredible forward bite,” Wallace said.  “I’m really excited for the win because it’s at a legendary track and we earned it.”


Josh Ferguson of Covington, Ind., and Richie Lex of Morgantown, Ind., split Nicely on the following lap three restart after Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ind., brought out the caution, spinning in turn three.  Ferguson held on to finish second with Lex in third.  Bradley Sterrett of Bloomington, Ind., finished fourth and Gilpin rebounded to finish fifth.


Defending Champion Mike Harrison of Highland, Ill., now leads Wallace by 39 markers with two events remaining.


(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)


The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals wraps up with a visit to Attica Raceway Park in Attica, Ohio on Friday night for a $600-to-win race followed by the finale, a $1,000-to-win race at Oakshade Raceway in Wauseon, Ohio.


Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Terre Haute Action Track; Terre Haute, Ind.; July 12, 2012 A-Main (15-laps): 1. Kenny Wallace ($700), 2. Josh Ferguson, 3. Richie Lex, 4.Bradley Sterrett, 5. Devin Gilpin, 6. Terry Messenger, 7. Kenny Carmichael, 8. Gabe Menser, 9. Will Krup, 10. Wil Newlin, 11. Tyler Nicely, 12. Dennis Vandermersch, 13. Curt Rhodes, 14. Tres Mehler, 15. Tommy Sheppard Sr., 16. Chad Evans, 17. Levi Kissinger, 18. Roger Mills 19. Mike Bechelli, 20. Dave Baldwin, 21. Tommy Sheppard Jr.


2012 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule




Winner (Cars)


Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN

Devin Gilpin (39)


Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, IL

Jeff Curl (27)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Ryan Gustin (41)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Rodney Sanders (41)


Wilmot Raceway

Wilmot, WI

Lance Arneson (52)


Spoon River Speedway

Canton, IL

David Wietholder (35)


Highland Speedway

Highland, IL

Mike Harrison (26)


Fayette Co. Speedway

Brownstown, IL

Larry Anderson (35)


Tri City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, IL

Brent Mullins (41)


Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL

Lance Dehm (31)


I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, MI

Jacob Poel (33)


Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, IN

Devin Gilpin (39)


Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, IL

Dean Hoffman (36)


Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, TN

Matt Cooper (12)


Paducah Int. Raceway

Paducah, KY

Matt Mevert (22)


Federated Auto Parts I-55

Pevely, MO

Michael Long (31)


Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, IL

Canceled (Heat)


Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL

Ray Bollinger (36)


Jacksonville Speedway

Jacksonville, IL

Ken Schrader (37)


Lasalle Speedway

Lasalle, IL

Milo Veloz Jr. (28)


Macon Speedway

Macon, IL

Ray Bollinger(31)


Quincy Raceways

Quincy, IL

Michael Long (16)


Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, TN

Clayton Miller (20)


Tri State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN

Michael Fox (53)


Florence Speedway

Union, KY

Kenny Wallace (43)


Brushcreek Motorsports

Pebbles, OH

Devin Gilpin (29)


Terre Haute Action Track

Terre Haute, IN

Kenny Wallace (28)


Attica Raceway Park

Attica, OH


Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, OH

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communications), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to contingency sponsors: Auto Meter, Bell Helmets, Beyea Headers, Bilstein Shocks, Chevy Performance Parts, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, Dominator Race Products, Eibach Springs, Fast Shafts, FK Rod Ends, Fragola Performance Systems, Impact Race Products, Intercomp, KSE Racing Products, Landrum Springs, MSD Ignitions, QA1 Motorsports, Quartermaster, Schoenfeld Headers, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and XS Power Racing Batteries.