Title Time for Harrison


Harrison Aims to Celebrate DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Championship with Fairbury Victory


FAIRBURY, Ill. – July 23, 2015 – What officials anticipated being a DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals championship showdown on Friday and Saturday at Fairbury American Legion Speedway will instead be a championship coronation for DIRTcar UMP Modified racer Mike Harrison.



Harrison, of Highland, Ill., has turned in the most dominating DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals performance in its five-year history. In a series where a driver’s best eight finishes count toward the title, Harrison posted eight wins in 11 starts. He was fourth, fifth and sixth in his three non-winning features, one of which was at Fairbury on June 20, giving him extra incentive to settle a score this weekend with the fan-favorite track. He will celebrate the series championship for the fourth time in five years.


In addition to the two $2,000-to-win features on Friday and Saturday, which are being run in conjunction with the World of Outlaws Late Model Series’ Prairie Dirt Classic Presented by Bank of Pontiac at Fairbury, Harrison will be laying claim to his $5,000 share of the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals point fund, which leaves nine drivers to race for the final spots in the top 10 and their stake of the $15,000 overall point fund.


Tyler Nicely, of Owensboro, Ky., was Harrison’s chief challenger during this year’s tour, which included 27 race nights in 30 days before Mother Nature intervened. The finale at Fairbury this weekend takes place two weeks after Bobby Pierce wrapped up the companion DIRTcar Summer Nationals crown at Oakshade Raceway. Nicely is second in the championship and would love nothing more than to close out the tour with a victory. Nicely finished second to Chad Kinder in the June 20 race at Fairbury.


Hot laps are slated to begin at 6 p.m. on Friday night and 5:45 p.m. on Saturday night, with the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals running 30 laps for $2,000-to-win on both nights.


For more information on Fairbury American Legion Speedway, go to www.fairburyspeedway.com.


Follow the DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/SummerNationals, or visit the series website at www.ModifiedNationals.com.


2015 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Top 20

Pos. Car Driver Points
1 24H Mike Harrison 631
2 25 Tyler Nicely 507
3 77 Ray Bollinger 467
4 5 Steven Brooks 455
5 9 Ken Schrader 443
6 36 Kenny Wallace 407
7 16C Josh Harris 381
8 c12 Jeff Curl 362
9 59N Chad Evans 351
10 6B Dave Baldwin 286
11 72 Brian Lynn 276
12 24Z Zeke McKenzie 250
13 70 Brian Bielong 240
14 G1 Gabe Menser 239
15 O5 David Wietholder 238
16 1W Bob Pohlman 237
17 89W Rick Weitekamp 213
18 1BUD Zach Fair 212
19 84 Tyler Deibert 212
20 1S Brian Shaw 206


2015 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Results

Date Day Track City
June 6 Saturday Tri-State Speedway Josh Harris
June 7 Sunday Terre Haute Action Track Bradley Sterrett
June 10 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Devin Gilpin
June 11 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Jeff Curl
June 12 Friday Kankakee Co. Speedway Rain
June 16 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Mike Harrison
June 18 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Rain (2)
June 19 Friday Tri-City Speedway Rain (3)
June 20 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Chad Kinder
June 21 Sunday Quincy Raceways Rain/PPD June 22 (4)
June 22 Monday Quincy Raceways Rain (5)
June 23 Tuesday Peoria Speedway Mike Harrison (2)
June 24 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Mike Harrison (3)
June 25 Thursday Clarksville Speedway Lucas Lee
June 26 Friday Paducah International Raceway Rain (5)
June 27 Saturday Federated I-55 Raceway Rain (6)
June 28 Sunday Lincoln Speedway Rain/PPD July 6
June 29 Monday OFF  
June 30 Tuesday I-96 Raceway Rain (7)
July 1 Wednesday Daugherty Speedway Devin Gilpin (2)
July 2 Thursday La Salle Speedway Mike Harrison (4)
July 3 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Mike Harrison (5)
July 4 Saturday Highland Speedway Mike Harrison (6)
July 5 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Dustin Beck
July 6 Monday Lincoln Speedway Mike Harrison (7)
July 7 Tuesday Vermilion Co. Speedway Rain (8)
July 8 Wednesday Florence Speedway Rain (9)
July 9 Thursday Macon Speedway Rain (10)
July 10 Friday Farmer City Raceway Mike Harrison (8)
July 11 Saturday Oakshade Raceway David Mielke
July 24 Friday Fairbury A.L. Speedway Fairbury, IL
July 25 Saturday Fairbury A.L. Speedway Fairbury, IL


The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communications Provider), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joe’s Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.