Ledford Lights Up Spoon

Ledford Charges to Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Win at Spoon River

CANTON, Ill. – July 14, 2011 – Jay Ledford etched his name into the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals history books Thursday night by earning the win at Spoon River Speedway.

(For the latest breaking news on the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals, click here to follow along on Twitter with the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Ledford, of Pontiac, Ill., would battle with Butch Weisser over the course of the 30-lap main event, making a final move to the lead with five laps remaining to score his first Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals win worth $1,000.  Weisser finished second ahead of Lincoln Speedway Modified Nationals winner Ray Bollinger of Kewanee, Ill.  Former DIRTcar UMP Modified National Champions Gary Cook Jr. of Deer Creek, Ill. and Jeff Leka of Buffalo, Ill., finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Mike Harrison continues to lead the Summit Racing Equipment Modified National by 209 markers over Curl with Mckay Wenger of Fairbury, Ill., 243 points out.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals will return to action Friday, July 15 at Attica (Ohio) Raceway Park.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Spoon River Speedway; Canton, Ill.; July 14, 2011

A-Main (30-Laps): 1. 7L Jay Ledford ($1,000), 2. 25 Butch Weisser, 3. 77 Ray Bollinger, 4. 64 Gary Cook, 5. 3L Jeff Leka, 6. 32 Donovan Lodge, 7. C12 Jeff Curl, 8. 31 Mark Anderson, 9. 26 JD Beal, 10. 49 Todd Bates 11. O5 Dave Wietholder, 12. 14 Richie Biswell, 13. 242 Gabe Menser, 14. 12J Kevin Morrow, 15. 1JR Floyd Jordan, 16. 292 Bobby Allen, 17. 21 Joe Wagner, 18. 25 Allen Weisser, 19. 32 Tommy Duncan, 20. 128 Brian Harris, 21. 28 Jim Hisber.

2011 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule




Winner (Cars)

June 15

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

PPD/July 12

June 16

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, Ill.

Ken Schrader (39)

June 17

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Ryan Gustin (52)

June 18

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Canceled Rain

June 20

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.


June 21

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.

PPD/July 14

June 22

Highland Speedway

Highland, Ill.

Ken Schrader (37)

June 23

Fayette County Speedway

Brownstown, Ill.

Mike Harrison(35)

June 24

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, Ill.

Mike Harrison(41)

June 25

Fairbury American Legion Speedway

Fairbury, Ill.

PPD/July 23

June 26

I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, Mich.

Jacob Poel (31)

June 28

Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, Ind.

Mike Harrison(34)

June 29

Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, Ill.

Ken Schrader(24)

June 30

Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, Tenn.

Lucas Lee (16)

July 1

Paducah International Raceway

Paducah, Ky.

Mike Harrison(26)

July 2

I-55 Raceway

Pevely, Mo.

Mike Harrison(37)

July 3

Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, Ill.

Ray Bollinger (40)

July 6

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, Ill.

Mike Harrison (23)

July 7

Macon Speedway

Macon, Ill.

PPD/July 21

July 8

Farmer City Raceway

Farmer City, Ill.

Chad Kinder(30)

July 9

Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, Tenn.

Randle Sweeney(16)

July 10

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, Ind.

Mike Harrison(39)

July 12

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

John Demoss(20)

July 13

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.

Mike Harrison(22)

July 14

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.

Jay Ledford(41)

July 15

Attica Raceway Park

Attica, Ohio

July 16

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Summit Racing Equipment, Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, University of Northwestern Ohio, Aero Race Wheels, ASI Racewear, Auto Meter, Bell Helmets, Beyea Custom Headers, Bilstein Shocks, Fast Shafts, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Intercomp, Racing Electronics, Vicci, Chizmark Larson Insurance, KSE Racing Products, MSD Ignition, QA1 Motorsports, Quarter Master, R2C Competition Series Air Filters, RacingJunk.com, Willy’s Carburetor & Dyno Shop, VP Racing Fuels.