Hoffman Takes Spoon River


Nick Hoffman Returns to Victory at Spoon River 

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals returns to action Friday at Tri-City Speedway

CANTON, Ill. – June 23, 2016 – Nick Hoffman continued to roll Thursday night at Spoon River Speedway as he claimed his third DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals victory of the season.

Hoffman, from Mooresville, N.C., jumped out to an early lead over Brent Mullins in the feature. Through three cautions, Mullins, who had his hands full with Allen Weisser, tried to run down Hoffman but was unable to close the gap.

Mullins finished second with Weisser in third, Kelly Kovski in fourth and Ray Bollinger in fifth. Nathan Balensiefen was the night’s hard charger.

In just four races so far this Modified Nationals season, Hoffman has won three.

The Summit Racing DIRTcar Modified Nationals returns to action on Friday at Tri-City Speedway in Pontoon Beach, Ill.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at Facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at TheHellTour.com and ModifiedNationals.com. 


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Spoon River Speedway; Canton, Ill.


A-Main: 1. Nick Hoffman (Mooresville, NC), 2. Brent Mullins (Litchfield, IL), 3. Allen Weisser (Peoria, IL), 4. Kelly Kovski (Sherman, IL), 5. Ray Bollinger (Kewanee, IL), 6. Tyler Nicely (Owensboro, KY), 7. Mike Chasteen Jr (Creue Coeur, IL), 8. Chris Osborne Jr (East Peoria, IL), 9. Nathan Balensiefen (Sheffield, IL), 10. Phil Dixon (Crosby, TX), 11. Kyle Steele (Mapleton, IL), 12. Aaron Draege (Vandalia, IL), 13. Mark Ross (Havana, IL), 14. Todd Bates (Canton, IL), 15. Travis Shoulders (Green Castle, IN), 16. Rick Weitekamp (Springfield, IL), 17. Josh Allen (Trivoli, IL), 18. Zac Oedewaldt (Hanna City, IL), 19. Brian Lynn (Mason City, IL), 20. Zane Oedewaldt (Hanna City, IL), 21. Michael Long (Fowler, IL), 22. David Wietholder (Liberty, IL). Hard Charger: Nathan Balensiefen


2016 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule


Date Day Track Winner
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Nick Hoffman
June 19 Sunday Terre Haute Action Track Nick Hoffman (2)
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Ray Walsh
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Nick Hoffman (3)
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway  
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway  
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway  
June 27 Monday OFF  
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway  
June 29 Wednesday Belle Clair Speedway  
June 30 Thursday Springfield Speedway  
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway  
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55  
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway  
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway  
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway  
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway  
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway  
July 8 Friday Farmer City Speedway  
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway  
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways  
July 11 Monday OFF  
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway  
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway  
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway  
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway  
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway  
July 29 Friday Fairbury Speedway  
July 30 Saturday Fairbury Speedway  


The Summit Racing Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partner : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Partners: MSD, Landrum Performance Springs, Quartermaster, JE Pistons, KSE Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Performance Friction Brakes, Schoenfeld Headers and Bell Helmets; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.