Harrison Wins Tri-State

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin


Harrison Scores Second DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory at Tri-State Speedway


HAUBSTADT, Ind. July 7, 2013 Mike Harrison scored his second win of the 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals season Sunday night at Tri-State Speedway after successfully completing a daring slide-job with only a handful of laps remaining to capture the checkered flag.


With nearly 60 modifieds in attendance, Harrison proved to be the man-to-beat as he became only the second repeat winner on the tour this season, joining Devin Gilpin who accomplished the feat in the first two events of the season.


Harrison, of Labanow, Ill., started third, where he would be stuck for the majority of the race as Larry Anderson and Tyler Nicely battled side-by-side for the lead. Harrison eventually made his way to second after Nicely hopped the inside cushion causing his car to spin out. After the ensuing restart, Harrison would move his line around to do whatever he could to pass the leader Anderson, but still couldn’t move to the front. Finally, with only a handful of laps remaining, Harrison got a nose on Anderson coming out of turn four and performed a daring slide-job in turn one, just barely clearing the front of Anderson’s machine. Harrison then held off a charge from Levi Kissinger in the final two laps and capture the $1,000 checkered flag.


“I knew I was better than Larry (Anderson) on the top, it was just a matter of getting around him,” said Harrison, who was eighth in the points coming into the night. “I saw him bobble that one time and seen it was my only chance to go, so I had to go.”



Larry Anderson, Kent Robinson and Nick Hoffman rounded out the top five.


Heat race winners included Larry Anderson, Tyler Nicely, Levi Kissinger, Mike Harrison, Kent Robinson and Stephen Schnapf


The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues Tuesday night at Florence Speedway located in Union, Kentucky.


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Tri-State Speedway; Haubstadt, Ind.; July 7, 2013

A-Main (25-laps): 1. Mike Harrison ($1,000), 2. Levi Kissinger, 3. Larry Anderson, 4. Kent Robinson, 5. Nick Hoffman, 6. Kenny Wallace, 7. Zach Fair, 8. Clayton Miller, 9. Josh Harris, 10. Dave Beck, 11. Brian Shaw, 12. Paul Miles, 13. Rob Timmons, 14. Stephen Schnapf, 15. Jake Griffin, 16. David Mielke, 17. Mark Lamont, 18. Tyler Nicely, 19. Robbie Eilers, 20. Devin Gilpin, 21. Trent Young, 22. Ray Bollinger, 23. Willie Madison.


2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals







June 8

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN

Devin Gilpin


June 12

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN

Devin Gilpin (2)


June 14

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, I

Nick Allen


June 16

Wilmot Raceway

Wilmot, WI

Mitch McGrath


June 19

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, IL

Kenny Wallace


June 20

Belle-Clair Speedway

Belleville, IL

Brian Beilong


June 21

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, IL

Michael Long


June 22

Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL

Lance Dehm


June 23

I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, MI

Dona Marcoullier


June 24

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL

Cancelled (RAIN)


June 26

Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, TN

Matt Cooper


June 27

Clayhill Motorsports Park

Atwood, TN

Lucas Lee


June 28

Paducah International Raceway

Paducah, KY



June 29

Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55

Pevely, MO



June 30

Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, IL

Ray Bollinger



July 2

Quincy Raceways

Quincy, IL

Steven DeLonjay


July 3

Jacksonville Speedway

Jacksonville, IL

David Wietholder


July 4

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, IL

Donovan Lodge


July 5

Fayette County Speedway

Brownstown, IL

Brent Mullins


July 6

Highland Speedway

Highland, IL

Postponed (RAIN)


July 7

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN

Mike Harrison (2)


July 9

Florence Speedway

Union, KY



July 10

Terre Haute Action Track

Terre Haute, IN



July 11

Macon Speedway

Macon, IL



July 12

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, IL



July 14

Vermillion County Speedway

Danville, IL



July 17

Brushcreek Motorsports Park

Peebles, OH



July 18

Twin Cities Raceway Park

North Vernon, IN



July 19

Attica Raceway Park

Attica, OH



July 20

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, OH


The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners: Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance.