Harrison Wins Peoria


Harrison Bumps and Runs to Fourth Win of 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Peoria Speedway


PEORIA, Ill. July 15, 2013 Mike Harrison extended his DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals points lead over Rusty Griffaw after he turned leader Kenny Wallace in the final corner and drove to the checkers to claim his fourth win of the 2013 tour on Monday night at Peoria Speedway.


The top two in final points of the 2012 series championship, Harrison, of Highland, Ill., and Wallace, of St. Louis, Mo., shared the front row. Wallace got the jump on Harrison in the high groove and pulled out to an early lead before an early race caution bunched the field.


Wallace again started quickly and tried to hold off Harrison, who could get to Wallace’s bumper but could never get a nose under him. Harrison finally got position on Wallace as Milo Veloz Jr. joined the battle for the lead. Harrison and Wallace raced side-by-side for the next handful of laps with Veloz lurking behind them, but Wallace maintained the top spot in the faster outside line.


With five laps remaining, tempers started to flare and patience was starting to wear. Harrison dove underneath Wallace every lap in turn three, but his car would never stick and Wallace kept the lead coming off of four. On the last lap it looked like it was Wallace’s race to lose, until Harrison would dive it off into turn three again, but this time making contact with Wallace’s left rear sending him spinning. Harrison rolled on to claim the $1,000 checkered flag with Wallace finishing seventh.


Ray Bollinger, Erik Bruce and Allen Weisser rounded out the top five.


Heat race winners included Mike Harrison, Kenny Wallace and Milo Veloz Jr.


The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues in its final week of action Wednesday night at Brushcreek Motorsports Park in Peebles, Ohio.


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Peoria (Ill.) Speedway; July 14, 2013

A-Main (30-laps): 1. Mike Harrison ($1,000), 2. Milo Veloz Jr, 3. Ray Bollinger, 4. Erik Bruce, 5. Allen Weisser, 6. Mike Chasteen Jr, 7. Kenny Wallace, 8. Billy Tuckwell, 9. Brian Lynn, 10. Flyod Jordan Jr, 11. Cody Bauman, 12. Donovan Lodge, 13. Derick Doerr, 14. Scott May, 15. David Wietholder, 16. Steven Delonjay, 17. A.J. May, 18. Rusty Griffaw, 19. Jake Griffin, 20. Collin Thirlby, 21. Joe Wagner, 22. Mike Brooks, 23. Jeff Leka.


2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals







June 8

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN

Devin Gilpin


June 12

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN

Devin Gilpin (2)


June 14

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, IL

Nick Allen


June 16

Wilmot Raceway

Wilmot, WI

Mitch McGrath


June 19

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, IL

Kenny Wallace


June 20

Belle-Clair Speedway

Belleville, IL

Brian Beilong


June 21

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, IL

Michael Long


June 22

Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL

Lance Dehm


June 23

I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, MI

Dona Marcoullier


June 24

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL

Cancelled (RAIN)


June 26

Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, TN

Matt Cooper


June 27

Clayhill Motorsports Park

Atwood, TN

Lucas Lee


June 28

Paducah International Raceway

Paducah, KY

Mike Harrison


June 29

Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55

Pevely, MO



June 30

Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, IL

Ray Bollinger



July 2

Quincy Raceways

Quincy, IL

Steven DeLonjay


July 3

Jacksonville Speedway

Jacksonville, IL

David Wietholder


July 4

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, IL

Donovan Lodge


July 5

Fayette County Speedway

Brownstown, IL

Brent Mullins


July 6

Highland Speedway

Highland, IL

Postponed (RAIN)


July 7

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN

Mike Harrison (2)


July 9

Florence Speedway

Union, KY

Ryan Thomas


July 10

Terre Haute Action Track

Terre Haute, IN

Cancelled (RAIN)


July 11

Macon Speedway

Macon, IL

Mike Harrison (3)


July 12

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, IL

Jeff Curl


July 14

Vermillion County Speedway

Danville, IL

Ryan Thomas (2)


July 15

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL

Mike Harrison (4)


July 17

Brushcreek Motorsports Park

Peebles, OH



July 18




July 19

Attica Raceway Park

Attica, OH



July 20

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, OH


The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners: Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance.