Harrison Wins Caution-Free Opener


Mike Harrison Wins Caution-Free Opener at Peoria Speedway


PEORIA, IL — June 13 — Highland, IL-native Mike Harrison grabbed the early lead from the outside pole position to win the 2018 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals opening event at Peoria Speedway (IL). The 2017 Tour Champion was able to expertly navigate lap traffic to go unchallenged in the 25-lap caution-free Feature event. The win marked a clean sweep for Harrison for the opening night that included a win in Heat race 2 and Quick Time in Qualifying group 2.


Finishing in second position was Owensboro, KY-driver Tyler Nicely. Nicely started in seventh in the Feature event and was able to pick off second place running Zeke McKenzie in late-race lap traffic. Mckenzie would go on to finish in the third place.


Pole sitter Mike McKinney lost the jump on the start and settled for a fifth place finish after a strong start to the night. Earlier in the evening McKinney set fast time in Qualifying group 1, followed by a victory in Heat 1.


Feature: Mike Harrison, Tyler Nicely, Zeke McKenzie, Mike McKinney, Mike Chasteen Jr, Ray Bollinger, Allen Weisser, Rick Conoyer, Dave Wietholder, Nick Neville, Jeffery Ledford, Donovan Lodge, Steven Brooks, Noah Saw, Austin Lynn, Derick Doerr, Roger Rebholz, Kenny Wallace, Christian Thomas, Rick Weitekamp, Phil Dixon, Gary Bentley






Tomorrow the DIRTcar Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals visit Kankakee Speedway (IL) for the 2nd event of Northern Kick Off Week. See the complete schedule at modifiednationals.com/schedule. Follow @SummerNationals on Twitter or Facebook for updates during and between race seasons. The Summit Modified Nationals will be joined by the DIRTcar Summer Nationals as the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals runs parallel to the DIRTcar Summer Nationals. Information on the Summer Nationals can be found thehelltour.com.