Harrison Tops Fairbury for 9th Win

072415 Harrison WinLR


Harrison Celebrates DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Championship with Victory at Fairbury


FAIRBURY, Ill. – July 24, 2015 – Mike Harrison won for the ninth time in 12 races, exacting revenge on Fairbury American Legion Speedway on Friday night, as he celebrated his fourth DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals championship in the past five years.




Fairbury had been one of only three tracks where Harrison raced on this year’s tour but didn’t win, until he dominated on Friday to lead all 30 laps and capture the $2,000 checkered flag on a night when he was honored for winning the series crown.


“It’s never easy,” said Harrison, of Highland, Ill. “I just try to get out there and be as smooth as I can and keep the car as straight as I can. I try to focus on my laps and my line and not worry about anybody else.”


There were two cautions during the main event. Following the second restart, Jeff Curl hooked up his DIRTcar UMP Modified and charged through the field to finish second. Tyler Nicely, who is trying to hold onto second overall in the championship, finished third with David Stremme and Ray Bollinger rounding out the top five.


The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals championship is decided by a driver’s best eight finishes over the course of the tour. Harrison became the first driver in the tour’s five-year history to post victories in every possible slot, and added to it with his ninth win on Friday night.


Heat race winners included Nicely, Patrick Lyon, Mike McKinney and Harrison.


The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals tour concludes its season on Saturday night at Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway as part of the World of Outlaws Late Model Series’ Prairie Dirt Classic night.


Follow the DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/SummerNationals, or visit the series website at www.ModifiedNationals.com.


2015 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track City
June 6 Saturday Tri-State Speedway Josh Harris
June 7 Sunday Terre Haute Action Track Bradley Sterrett
June 10 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Devin Gilpin
June 11 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Jeff Curl
June 12 Friday Kankakee Co. Speedway Rain
June 16 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Mike Harrison
June 18 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Rain (2)
June 19 Friday Tri-City Speedway Rain (3)
June 20 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Chad Kinder
June 21 Sunday Quincy Raceways Rain/PPD June 22 (4)
June 22 Monday Quincy Raceways Rain (5)
June 23 Tuesday Peoria Speedway Mike Harrison (2)
June 24 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Mike Harrison (3)
June 25 Thursday Clarksville Speedway Lucas Lee
June 26 Friday Paducah International Raceway Rain (6)
June 27 Saturday Federated I-55 Raceway Rain (7)
June 28 Sunday Lincoln Speedway Rain/PPD July 6
June 29 Monday OFF  
June 30 Tuesday I-96 Raceway Rain (8)
July 1 Wednesday Daugherty Speedway Devin Gilpin (2)
July 2 Thursday La Salle Speedway Mike Harrison (4)
July 3 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Mike Harrison (5)
July 4 Saturday Highland Speedway Mike Harrison (6)
July 5 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Dustin Beck
July 6 Monday Lincoln Speedway Mike Harrison (7)
July 7 Tuesday Vermilion Co. Speedway Rain (9)
July 8 Wednesday Florence Speedway Rain (10)
July 9 Thursday Macon Speedway Rain (11)
July 10 Friday Farmer City Raceway Mike Harrison (8)
July 11 Saturday Oakshade Raceway David Mielke
July 24 Friday Fairbury A.L. Speedway Mike Harrison (9)
July 25 Saturday Fairbury A.L. Speedway Fairbury, IL


The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communications Provider), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joe’s Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.