Harrison Earns Highland Victory


Harrison Charges to Hometown Win at Highland for Sixth DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory


HIGHLAND, Ill. – July 4, 2015 – Mike Harrison was dialed in on the bottom Saturday night at Highland Speedway as he slid inside of leader Brian Shaw on the third lap, held on through two restarts and powered to his sixth victory of the 2015 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals tour.


Harrison, of Highland, Ill., made no mistakes during the 25-lap main event, hitting his marks in every corner as he showed why he’s the three-time and defending series champion who appears to be on his way to a fourth crown in five years after taking another $1,000 victory.


“Summit stepped up to do this deal for us modified guys and it’s been a blast chasing this series around,” said Harrison, who farms during the day. “It’s a lot of fun going to all the tracks. Last year Brownstown and here kind of evaded me, I think I ran second both nights, so it’s good to come to home turf and win in front of the hometown crowd.”


Runner-up Tyler Deibert held off Brian Bielong, who was making the top side of Highland work to his advantage as he kept surging toward the front. Ray Bollinger and Robbie Eilers rounded out the top five.


Click here to watch highlights from Saturday night’s race.


The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals tour rolls into Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind., on Sunday and then heads Monday to Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway, which was rained out on June 28.


Follow the Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/SummerNationals, or visit the series’ websites at www.TheHellTour.com and www.ModifiedNationals.com.


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Highland (Ill.) Speedway; July 4, 2015

A-MAIN (25 LAPS) –1. (24H) Mike Harrison, Highland, IL ($1,000); 2. (84) Tyler Deibert, Highland, IL; 3. (70) Brian Bielong, Summerfield, IL; 4. (77) Ray Bollinger, Kewanee, IL; 5. (3E) Robbie Eilers, Highland, IL; 6. (16) Rusty Griffaw, Festus, MO; 7. (9) Ken Schrader, Concord, NC; 8. (1S) Brian Shaw, Robinson, IL; 9. (9*) Jordan Bauer, St Jacob, IL; 10. (36) Kenny Wallace, Concord, NC; 11. (3D) Ryan Driemeyer, Pocahontas, IL; 12. (55) Marty Smith, Troy, IL; 13. (88) Rob Lee, Sorento, IL; 14. (15) Chris Smith, Highland, IL; 15. (0) Rick Standridge, Collinsville, IL; 16. (76) Eric Goetter, Summerfield, IL; 17. (11) Chad Sellers, Breese, IL; 18. (6) Matt Koch, Aviston, IL; 19. (25K) Brett Korves, Swansen, IL; 20. (7P) Dennis Ponder, Collinsville, IL; 21. (10X) Jim Black, Bonne Terre, MO; 22. (26E) James Edens, Breese, IL.


HEAT RACE WINNERS: Brian Shaw, Rusty Griffaw, Mike Harrison and Ray Bollinger.


2015 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

Terre Haute Action Track

Date Day Track City
June 6 Saturday Tri-State Speedway Josh Harris
June 7 Sunday Bradley Sterrett
June 10 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Devin Gilpin
June 11 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Jeff Curl
June 12 Friday Kankakee Co. Speedway Rain
June 16 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Mike Harrison
June 18 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Rain
June 19 Friday Tri-City Speedway Rain
June 20 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Chad Kinder
June 21 Sunday Quincy Raceways Rain/PPD June 22
June 22 Monday Quincy Raceways Rain
June 23 Tuesday Peoria Speedway Mike Harrison (2)
June 24 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Mike Harrison (3)
June 25 Thursday Clarksville Speedway Lucas Lee
June 26 Friday Paducah International Raceway Rain
June 27 Saturday Federated I-55 Raceway Rain
June 28 Sunday Lincoln Speedway Rain/PPD July 6
June 29 Monday OFF  
June 30 Tuesday I-96 Raceway Rain
July 1 Wednesday Daugherty Speedway Devin Gilpin (2)
July 2 Thursday La Salle Speedway Mike Harrison (4)
July 3 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Mike Harrison (5)
July 4 Saturday Highland Speedway Mike Harrison (6)
July 5 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
July 6 Monday Lincoln Speedway From June 28
July 7 Tuesday Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, IL
July 8 Wednesday Florence Speedway Union, KY
July 9 Thursday Macon Speedway Macon, IL
July 10 Friday Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, IL
July 11 Saturday Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH
July 24 Friday Fairbury A.L. Speedway Fairbury, IL
July 25 Saturday Fairbury A.L. Speedway Fairbury, IL

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communications Provider), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joe’s Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.