Gustin Gets Cedar Lake

Gustin Races to Cedar Lake DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Triumph


SOMERSET, Wis. – June 17, 2011 – Ryan Gustin raced to victory on the second night of the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Friday night at Cedar Lake Speedway.


Gustin, of Marshalltown, Iowa, climbed from his sixth place starting position and held off a charge from Rodney Sanders of Happy, Texas, to claim the $2,000 checkered flag on the opening night of the Cedar Lake doubleheader. Sanders held on to claim the runner-up spot ahead of Jason Hughes of Watts, Okla.

(For the latest breaking news on the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals, click here to follow along on Twitter with the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Heat race winners were Jason Miller of Osceola, Minn., Brandon Beckendorf Danube, Minn., Jason Grimes of Jamestown, N.D., Gustin, Mike Steensma of Luverne, Minn., and Sanders.


The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals returns to Cedar Lake Speedway Saturday night with $3,000 on the line to the winner.

The inaugural tour then heads back south with the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour on Monday to LaSalle (Ill.) Speedway as it gains speed, eventually winding up July 16 at Oakshade Speedway in Wauseon, Ohio, where the overall champion will be crowned.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.

Ryan Gustin powers around the high side at Cedar Lake – Photo Credit: Jerry Zimmer


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Cedar Lake (Wis.) Speedway; June 17, 2011

A-Main Finish (30-Laps/Position Started (Car) Driver Hometown): 1. (6) 19r Ryan Gustin, Marshalltown, Iowa ($2100), 2. (2) 20 Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas, 3. (13) 12 Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla., 4. (12) 33z Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa, 5. (11) 2c Dave Cain, Corcoran, Minn., 6. (7) 10 Mike Steensma, Luverne, Minn., 7. (14) v2 Joey Jensen, Forest Lake, Minn., 8. (1) 7K Jason Krohn, Slayton, Minn., 9. (8) 91 Craig Thatcher, Knapp, Wis., 10. (9) 31 Corey Dripps, Waterloo, Iowa, 11. (20) ioU1 Brent Larson, Lake Elmo, Minn., 12. (4) 12M Jason Miller, Osceola, Wis., 13. (16) 90 Steve Wetzstein, West Concord, Minn. 14. (3) 99 Jason Grimes, Jamestown, N.D., 15. (15) 97 Ron Schreiner, Hudson, Wis., 16. (27) 3 Kelly Shryock, Fertile, Iowa, 17. (25) 7 Al Hejna, Clear Lake, Iowa, 18. (17) 111 Bumper Jones, Mesilla Park, N.M., 19. (22) 4r Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla., 20. (5) 5 Brandon Beckendorf, Danube, Minn., 21. (28) 72 Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie, Minn., 22. (26) 12 Jason Gross, Osceola, Wis., 23. (23) 49X Jay Poidinger, Somerset, Wis., 24. (21) 26 Bob Gierke, Westport, Minn., 25. (19) 18 Chase Junghans, Manhattan, Kan., 26. (24) 31t Trent Follmer, Prinston, Minn., 27. (18) 66 Dan Bohr, Decorah, Iowa, 28. (10) 8 Colt Mather, Webster, Iowa.


2011 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule




Winner (Cars)

June 15

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

PPD/July 12

June 16

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, Ill.

Ken Schrader (39)

June 17

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

Ryan Gustin (52)

June 18

Cedar Lake Speedway

Cedar Lake, Wis.

June 20

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill.

June 21

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, Ill.

June 22

Highland Speedway

Highland, Ill.

June 23

Fayette County Speedway

Brownstown, Ill.

June 24

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, Ill.

June 25

Fairbury American Legion Speedway

Fairbury, Ill.

June 26

I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, Mich.

June 28

Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, Ind.

June 29

Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, Ill.

June 30

Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, Tenn.

July 1

Paducah International Raceway

Paducah, Ky.

July 2

I-55 Raceway

Pevely, Mo.

July 3

Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, Ill.

July 6

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, Ill.

July 7

Macon Speedway

Macon, Ill.

July 8

Farmer City Raceway

Farmer City, Ill.

July 9

Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, Tenn.

July 10

Tri-State Speedway


July 12

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

July 15

Attica Raceway Park

Attica, Ohio

July 16

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, Ohio


The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Summit Racing Equipment, Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, University of Northwestern Ohio, Aero Race Wheels, ASI Racewear, Auto Meter, Bell Helmets, Beyea Custom Headers, Bilstein Shocks, Fast Shafts, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Intercomp, Racing Electronics, Vicci, Chizmark Larson Insurance, KSE Racing Products, MSD Ignition, QA1 Motorsports, Quarter Master, R2C Performance Intake Systems,, Willy’s Carburetor & Dyno Shop, VP Racing Fuels.