Gilpin Dominates at Daugherty Speedway


Gilpin Dominates DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Main Event at Indiana’s Daugherty Speedway


BOSWELL, Ind. – July 1, 2015 – Devin Gilpin powered to his second DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals victory of the season, winning Wednesday night at Daugherty Speedway.

Gilpin, of Columbus, Ind., is the three-time and defending DIRTcar UMP Modified national champion and showed why he’s been so successful on Wednesday night. He jumped out to the lead in the first corner, survived two restarts, and never looked back en route to winning the 25-lapper worth $1,000.


“I knew I wanted to get to the top, I just wanted to make a good start and get to the top and get clear,” said Gilpin, who also finished seventh in the DIRTcar Summer Nationals late model feature. “My grandpa just had this thing dialed in tonight. I was undecided what to do with the tire. We had a little bit of tire wear in the heat and I didn’t know what tire to put on it. He put the perfect tire on. All the glory to my grandpa.”


Bob Pohlman, Joe Godsey, points-leader Tyler Nicely and and Tim Reynolds rounded out the top five.


Click here to watch highlights from Wednesday night’s race.


The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals tour rolls to LaSalle (Ill.) Speedway for Thursday night’s action followed on Friday by Fayette County Speedway in Brownstown, Ill.


Follow the Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at, or visit the series’ websites at and


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Daugherty Speedway; Boswell, Ind.; July 1, 2015

A-MAIN (25 LAPS) – 1. (1G) Devin Gilpin, Columbus, IN ($1,000); 2. (1W) Bob Pohlman, Oaklawn, IL; 3. (14) Joe Godsey, Edinburgh, IN; 4. (25) Tyler Nicely, Owensboro, KY; 5. (40R) Tim Reynolds, Boswell, IN; 6. (82) Jacob Poel, Spring Lake, MI; 7. (36) Kenny Wallace, Concord, NC; 8. (1S) Brian Shaw, Robinson, IL; 9. (65) Todd Sherman, Cherbusco, IN; 10. (36L) Jamie Lomax, Lake Village, IN; 11. (77) Ray Bollinger, Kewanee, IL; 12. (47C) Collin Thirlby, Traverse City, MI; 13. (757) Kurt Allison, Wanatau, IN; 14. (12) Jeff Curl, Fairbury, IL; 15. (59N) Chad Evans, Mattoon, IL; 16. (24Z) Zeke McKenzie, Claypool, IN; 17. (28M) Frank Marshall, Valparaiso, IN; 18. (225) Jesse Bitterling, Star City, IN; 19. (62G) Butch Carnaghl, Dannle, IL; 20. (18L) Randy Lines, Marion, IN; 21. (6B) Dave Baldwin, Perrysville, IN; 22. (79D) John DeMoss, Bloomington, IN.


HEAT RACE WINNERS: Devin Gilpin, Bob Pohlman and Tim Reynolds.


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Championship Top 20

Pos. Car Driver Points
1 25 Tyler Nicely 421
2 24H Mike Harrison 346
3 16C Josh Harris 311
4 9 Ken Schrader 290
5 77 Ray Bollinger 288
6 c12 Jeff Curl 279
7 5 Steven Brooks 257
8 24Z Zeke McKenzie 240
9 36 Kenny Wallace 235
10 6B Dave Baldwin 209
11 59N Chad Evans 204
12 1W Bob Pohlman 182
13 O5 David Wietholder 181
14 2H Nick Hoffman 167
15 1G Devin Gilpin 156
16 G1 Gabe Menser 149
17 90 Bradley Sterrett 145
18 89W Rick Weitekamp 141
19 14 Joe Godsey 131
20 1D Dean Hoffman 118


The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communications Provider), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joe’s Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.