Curl Tops Kankakee; Friday Rained Out

061115 MN Kankakee Curl600x400


Curl Captures Kankakee DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory

Friday night’s UMP Modified event at Kankakee rained out


KANKAKEE, Ill. – June 11, 2015 – Jeff Curl kept the pressure on Nick Allen Thursday night in the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Kankakee County Speedway when Allen’s UMP Modified went high in turns 3 and 4 with a mechanical problem on lap 11, forcing Allen to the pits.


Curl, of Fairbury, Ill., assumed the lead and held off Steven Brooks and Kenny Wallace to the checkered flag to become the fourth different winner during this year’s tour. Bob Pohlman and Ray Bollinger rounded out the top five.


“Lapped traffic was there and I didn’t want to give up my line. We’ve won the Summit Nationals here three out of the last four years here. I have no idea why this track is so nice to us during the Summit Nationals. I can’t win on a regular night here, might as well save it for a special night! … Summit Nationals wins are hard to come by and I’m glad I got one.”


Click here for highlights of Thursday night’s race.


There were 20 UMP Modifieds entered in the event. After narrowly beating weather on Thursday, tonight’s DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals race at Kankakee has been rained out.


Follow the Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at, or visit the series’ websites at and


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Kankakee (Ill.) County Speedway; June 11, 2015

A-MAIN (25 LAPS) – 1. (12) Jeff Curl, Fairbury, IL ($1,000); 2. (5) Steven Brooks, New Lenox, IL; 3. (36) Kenny Wallace, Concord, NC; 4. (1W) Bob Pohlman, Oaklawn, IL; 5. (77) Ray Bollinger, Kewanee, IL; 6. (36L) Jamie Lomax, Lake Village, IN; 7. (24Z) Zeke McKenzie, Claypool, IN; 8. (6B) Dave Baldwin, Perrysville, IN; 9. (66) Phil LIne, Kankakee, IL; 10. (28T) Dane Tilstra, Onarga, IL; 11. (59N) Chad Evans, Mattoon, IL; 12. (10) Shawn Scripter, Peotone, IL; 13. (80) Rich Dawson, Kouts, IN; 14. (37) Devin Wright, Rensselher, IN; 15. (16) Nicholas Lueth, Grand Ridge, IL; 16. (89W) Rick Weitekamp, Springfield, IL; 17. (36K) Kevin Hastings, Kankakee, IL; 18. (21A) Nick Allen, Wheatfield, IN; 19. (G1) Gabe Menser, Ashmore, IL; 20. (35) Jason Hastings, Kankakee, IL (DNS).

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Jeff Curl and Nick Allen.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Top 20 Championship Standings (Through Kankakee)

1 25 Tyler Nicely 205
2 16C Josh Harris 184
3 6B Dave Baldwin 178
4 90 Bradley Sterrett 145
5 9 Ken Schrader 104
6 24Z Zeke McKenzie 103
7 1BUD Zach Fair 98
8 59N Chad Evans 84
9 1G Devin Gilpin 80
10 12 Jeff Curl 75
11 X Roy Bruce Jr 73
12 77 Stephen Schnapf 70
5 Steven Brooks 70
14 16 Rick Pauley 68
89W Rick Weitekamp 68
16 G1 Gabe Menser 67
17 71X Dave Beck 65
14 Joe Godsey 65
36 Kenny Wallace 65
20 9 Chad Combs 60
1W Bob Pohlman 60


The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is brought to
fans across the country by many important partners including:
Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communications Provider), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joe’s Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.