Babcock Wins Finale, Harrison Champion


Babcock Captures Win in DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Finale at Oakshade Raceway

Harrison clinches his second championship in three seasons


WAUSEON, Ohio July 20, 2013 Jeff Babcock rallied from his ninth-place starting position to pass race-long leader Matt Hamilton on Saturday night en route to claiming his first win in the season finale of the 2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals tour at Oakshade Raceway.


For the second time in three years, Mike Harrison, of Highland, Ill., captured the overall season title on the strength of his four victories in the series where a driver’s seven best finishes count toward the championship.

072213 MN ChampGraphic 


On Saturday night, Babcock, of Wayne, Ohio, was third in his heat race, resulting in a fifth-row starting position. Second-place starting Matt Hamilton pulled out to an early lead, shooting around the outside of pole-sitter Mark Anderson.


Hamilton dominated early and looked to be the car to beat, with Babcock slowly working his way to the front. Babcock stayed glued to the bottom as he made his way around Collin Thirlby, Dona Marcoullier and Steven Brooks before setting his sights on leader Hamilton, who had built a large advantage.


Babcock, using a lapped car as a pick, got to the inside of Hamilton with 8 laps left, but Hamilton held off the challenge to his inside. Hamilton cleared Babcock before lapped traffic would come into play again one lap later, and this time it cost Hamilton the lead and eventually the victory.


Babcock and Hamilton raced side-by-side for the next five laps as they diced through lapped traffic, with Babcock clearing Hamilton with two laps remaining. A caution waved as the leaders came to the white flag, resulting in the leaders being bunched back up and taking lapped traffic out of the equation. On the ensuing restart Babcock pulled away from Hamilton and secured the $1,000 checkered flag.



Brian Ruhlman, Collin Thirlby and Steven Brooks rounded out the top five.


Heat race winners included Dona Marcoullier, Curt Spalding, Mark Anderson and Matt Hamilton.


2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Oakshade Raceway; Wauseon, Ohio; July 20, 2013

A-Main (30 laps):1. Jeff Babcock (Wayne, OH), 2. Matt Hamilton (Aurora, IN), 3. Brian Ruhlman (Clarklake, MI), 4. Collin Thirlby (Traverse City, MI), 5. Steven Brooks (New Lenox, IL), 6. Dona Marcoullier (Houguton Lake, MI), 7. Zachary Schroeder (Findlay, OH), 8. Taylor Cook (Stanley, NC), 9. Josh Scott (Weston, OH), 10. Brent Hole (New Knoxville, OH), 11. Hillard Miller (Defiance, OH), 12. Matt Westfall (Pleasant Hill, OH), 13. Tim Dalman (Portland, MI), 14. Mark Anderson (Lowell, MI), 15. Derrick Noffsinger (Continental, OH), 16. Bill Keeler (Rawson, OH), 17. John Brooks (Wayne, OH), 18. Jason Kinney (Mendon, OH), 19. Dave Sibberson (Swanton, OH), 20. Corey Bevard (Union City, MI), 21. Ryan Ordway (Continental, OH), 22. Curt Spalding (Hartford, MI).


2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Results







June 8

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN

Devin Gilpin (Non-points)


ne 12

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN

Devin Gilpin (2)


June 14

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, IL

Nick Allen


June 16

Wilmot Raceway

Wilmot, WI

Mitch McGrath


June 19

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, IL

Kenny Wallace


June 20

Belle-Clair Speedway

Belleville, IL

Brian Beilong


June 21

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, IL

Michael Long


June 22

Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL

Lance Dehm


June 23

I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, MI

Dona Marcoullier


June 24

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL

Cancelled (RAIN)


June 26

Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, TN

Matt Cooper


June 27

Clayhill Motorsports Park

Atwood, TN

Lucas Lee


June 28

Paducah International Raceway

Paducah, KY

Mike Harrison


June 29

Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55

Pevely, MO



June 30

Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, IL

Ray Bollinger



July 2

Quincy Raceways

Quincy, IL

Steven DeLonjay


July 3

Jacksonville Speedway

Jacksonville, IL

David Wietholder


July 4

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, IL

Donovan Lodge


July 5

Fayette County Speedway

Brownstown, IL

Brent Mullins


July 6

Highland Speedway

Highland, IL

Postponed (RAIN)


July 7

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN

Mike Harrison (2)


July 9

Florence Speedway

Union, KY

Ryan Thomas


July 10

Terre Haute Action Track

Terre Haute, IN

Cancelled (RAIN)


July 11

Macon Speedway

Macon, IL

Mike Harrison (3)


July 12

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, IL

Jeff Curl


July 14

Vermillion County Speedway

Danville, IL

Ryan Thomas (2)


July 15

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL

Mike Harrison (4)


July 17

Brushcreek Motorsports Park

Peebles, OH

Doug Adkins (Non-points)


July 18




July 19

Attica Raceway Park

Attica, OH

Kevin Morehouse


July 20

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, OH

Jeff Babcock

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners: Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilste
in Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance.